Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The Habitable Exoplanet Observatory (HabEx)
Author(s): B. Scott Gaudi; Bertrand Mennesson; Sara Seager; Kerri Cahoy; John Clarke; Shawn Domagal-Goldman; Lee Feinberg; Olivier Guyon; Jeremy Kasdin; Christian Marois; Dimitri Mawet; Motohide Tamura; David Mouillet; Timo Prusti; Andreas Quirrenbach; Tyler Robinson; Leslie Rogers; Paul Scowen; Rachel Somerville; Karl Stapelfeldt; Christopher Stark; Daniel Stern; Martin Still; Margaret Turnbull; Jeffrey Booth; Alina Kiessling; Gary Kuan; Keith Warfield
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Habitable-Exoplanet Observatory (HabEx) is a candidate flagship mission being studied by NASA and the astrophysics community in preparation of the 2020 Decadal Survey. The first HabEx mission concept that has been studied is a large (~4m) diffraction-limited optical space telescope, providing unprecedented resolution and contrast in the optical, with extensions into the near ulttraviolet and near infrared domains. We report here on our team’s efforts in defining a scientifically compelling HabEx mission that is technologically executable, affordable within NASA’s expected budgetary envelope, and timely for the next decade. We also briefly discuss our plans to explore less ambitious, descoped missions relative to the primary mission architecture discussed here.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 August 2018
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 10698, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave, 106980P (1 August 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2312278
Show Author Affiliations
B. Scott Gaudi, The Ohio State Univ. (United States)
Bertrand Mennesson, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Sara Seager, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States)
Kerri Cahoy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States)
John Clarke, Boston Univ. (United States)
Shawn Domagal-Goldman, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Lee Feinberg, The Univ. of Arizona and Subaru Telescope (United States)
Olivier Guyon, The Univ. of Arizona and Subaru Telescope (United States)
Jeremy Kasdin, Princeton Univ. (United States)
Christian Marois, NRC - Herzberg Astronomy & Astrophysics (Canada)
Dimitri Mawet, Caltech (United States)
Motohide Tamura, The Univ. of Tokyo and NAOJ (Japan)
David Mouillet, CNRS, IPAG (France)
Timo Prusti, ESA, ESTEC (Netherlands)
Andreas Quirrenbach, Landessternwarte Königstuhl (Germany)
Tyler Robinson, Northern Arizona Univ. (United States)
Leslie Rogers, Univ. of Chicago (United States)
Paul Scowen, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Rachel Somerville, Rutgers, The State Univ. of New Jersey (United States)
Karl Stapelfeldt, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Christopher Stark, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Daniel Stern, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Martin Still, NASA Headquarters (United States)
Margaret Turnbull, Global Science Institute (United States)
Jeffrey Booth, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Alina Kiessling, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Gary Kuan, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Keith Warfield, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10698:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave
Makenzie Lystrup; Howard A. MacEwen; Giovanni G. Fazio; Natalie Batalha; Nicholas Siegler; Edward C. Tong, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?