Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Non-equilibrium magnetic effects at interfaces for ultrafast dynamics (Conference Presentation)
Author(s): Ilya Razdolski; Alexandr Alekhin; Nikita Ilin; Jan P. Meyburg; Vladimir Roddatis; Detlef Diesing; Uwe Bovensiepen; Alexey Melnikov

Paper Abstract

Representing the future of spintronics, femtosecond spin current (SC) pulses constitute a versatile tool to transfer spin and control magnetization on the ultrafast timescale. It is therefore of paramount importance to understand the kinetics of these pulses and the fundamentals of their interaction with magnetized media. In our work, we demonstrate the key role of interfaces for the SC dynamics in Fe/Au/Fe multilayers. In particular, we argue that both (i) demagnetization caused by a pulse of hot electrons and (ii) spin transfer torque exerted by the orthogonal to the Fe magnetization projection of magnetic moment delivered by SC pulse are localized in the vicinity of the Fe/Au interface. We analyze both processes in details, showing that the SC-driven excitation of the sub-THz spin wave dynamics in Fe film is enabled by the spatial confinement of the exerted spin transfer torque. Moreover, a pulse of hot electrons leads to the efficient demagnetization of the Fe film. By disentangling the magneto-optical Kerr effect (MOKE) transients we demonstrate the strong spatial non-uniformity of this demagnetization. We argue that simultaneous recording of transient MOKE rotation and ellipticity is crucial for drawing such conclusions. Our findings have a twofold impact: firstly, they illustrate rich opportunities of utilizing SC pulses for manipulation of magnetization in ferromagnets and, secondly, they highlight the importance of spatial localization for understanding the ultrafast spin dynamics in multilayers.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 September 2017
Proc. SPIE 10357, Spintronics X, 1035718 (21 September 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2274750
Show Author Affiliations
Ilya Razdolski, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (Germany)
Alexandr Alekhin, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (Germany)
Nikita Ilin, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (Germany)
Jan P. Meyburg, Univ. Duisburg-Essen (Germany)
Vladimir Roddatis, Institut für Materialphysik, Georg-August-Univ. Göttingen (Germany)
Detlef Diesing, Univ. Duisburg-Essen (Germany)
Uwe Bovensiepen, Univ. Duisburg-Essen (Germany)
Alexey Melnikov, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10357:
Spintronics X
Henri-Jean Drouhin; Jean-Eric Wegrowe; Manijeh Razeghi; Henri Jaffrès, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?