Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Modulation and detection of single neuron activity using spin transfer nano-oscillators
Author(s): Jose Miguel Algarin; Bharath Ramaswamy; Lucy Venuti; Matthew Swierzbinski; Pablo Villar; Yu-Jin Chen; Ilya Krivorotov; Irving N. Weinberg; Jens Herberholz; Ricardo Araneda; Benjamin Shapiro; Edo Waks
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The brain is a complex network of interconnected circuits that exchange electrical signals with each other. These electrical signals provide insight on how neural circuits code information, and give rise to sensations, thoughts, emotions and actions. Currents methods to detect and modulate these electrical signals use implanted electrodes or optical fields with light sensitive dyes in the brain. These techniques require complex surgeries or suffer low resolution. In this talk we explore a new method to both image and stimulate single neurons using spintronics. We propose using a Spin Transfer Nano-Oscillators (STNOs) as a nanoscale sensor that converts neuronal action potentials to microwave field oscillations that can be detected wirelessly by magnetic induction. We will describe our recent proof-of-concept demonstration of both detection and wireless modulation of neuronal activity using STNOs. For detection we use electrodes to connect a STNO to a lateral giant crayfish neuron. When we stimulate the neuron, the STNO responds to the neuronal activity with a corresponding microwave signal. For modulation, we stimulate the STNOs wirelessly using an inductively coupled solenoid. The STNO rectifies the induced microwave signal to produce a direct voltage. This direct voltage from the STNO, when applied in the vicinity of a mammalian neuron, changes the frequency of electrical signals produced by the neuron.

Paper Details

Date Published: 6 September 2017
PDF: 16 pages
Proc. SPIE 10357, Spintronics X, 1035727 (6 September 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2274462
Show Author Affiliations
Jose Miguel Algarin, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Bharath Ramaswamy, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Lucy Venuti, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Matthew Swierzbinski, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Pablo Villar, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Yu-Jin Chen, Univ. of California, Irvine (United States)
Ilya Krivorotov, Univ. of California, Irvine (United States)
Irving N. Weinberg, Weinberg Medical Physics (United States)
Jens Herberholz, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Ricardo Araneda, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Benjamin Shapiro, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
Edo Waks, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10357:
Spintronics X
Henri-Jean Drouhin; Jean-Eric Wegrowe; Manijeh Razeghi; Henri Jaffrès, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?