Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Environmental testing of the ATHENA mirror modules
Author(s): Boris Landgraf; David Girou; Maximilien J. Collon; Giuseppe Vacanti; Nicolas M. Barrière; Ramses Günther; Mark Vervest; Roy van der Hoeven; Marco W. Beijersbergen; Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Sebastiaan Fransen; Brian Shortt; Coen van Baren; Alexander Eigenraam
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The European Space Agency (ESA) is studying the ATHENA (Advanced Telescope for High ENergy Astrophysics) X-ray telescope, the second L-class mission in their Cosmic Vision 2015 – 2025 program with a launch spot in 2028. The baseline technology for the X-ray lens is the newly developed high-performance, light-weight and modular Silicon Pore Optics (SPO). As part of the technology preparation, ruggedisation and environmental testing studies are being conducted to ensure mechanical stability and optical performance of the optics during and after launch, respectively. At cosine, a facility with shock, vibration, tensile strength, long time storage and thermal testing equipment has been set up in order to test SPO mirror module (MM) materials for compliance with an Ariane launch vehicle and the mission requirements. In this paper, we report on the progress of our ongoing investigations regarding tests on mechanical and thermal stability of MM components like single SPO stacks with and without multilayer coatings and complete MMs of inner (R = 250 mm), middle (R = 737 mm) and outer (R = 1500 mm) radii.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 October 2017
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 10399, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII, 103990G (13 October 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2274298
Show Author Affiliations
Boris Landgraf, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
David Girou, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Maximilien J. Collon, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Vacanti, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Nicolas M. Barrière, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Ramses Günther, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Mark Vervest, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Roy van der Hoeven, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Marco W. Beijersbergen, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Sebastiaan Fransen, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Brian Shortt, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Coen van Baren, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Alexander Eigenraam, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10399:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII
Stephen L. O'Dell; Giovanni Pareschi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?