Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Integration of the ATHENA mirror modules: development of indirect and x-ray direct AIT methods
Author(s): Dervis Vernani; Steffen Blum; Thibault Seure; Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Uwe Schaeffer; Nicolas Lièvre; Adeeb Nazeeruddin; Nicolas M. Barrière; Maximilien J. Collon; Levent Cibik; Michael Krumrey; Peter Müller; Vadim Burwitz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Within the ATHENA optics technology plan, activities are on-going for demonstrating the feasibility of the mirror module Assembly Integration and Testing (AIT). Each mirror module has to be accurately attached to the mirror structure by means of three isostatic mounts ensuring minimal distortion under environmental loads. This work reports on the status of one of the two parallel activities initiated by ESA to address this demanding task. In this study awarded to the industrial consortium, the integration relies on opto-mechanical metrology and direct X-ray alignment. For the first or “indirect” method the X-ray alignment results are accurately referenced, by means of a laser tracking system, to optical fiducial targets mounted on the mirror modules and finally linked to the mirror structure coordinate system. With the second or “direct” method the alignment is monitored in the X-ray domain, providing figures of merit directly comparable to the final performance. The integration being designed and here presented, foresees combining the indirect method to the X-ray direct method. The characterization of the single mirror modules is planned at PTB’s X-ray Parallel Beam Facility (XPBF 2.0) at BESSY II, and the integration and testing campaign at Panter. It is foreseen to integrate and test a demonstrator with two real mirror modules manufactured by cosine.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 August 2017
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 10399, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII, 103990F (29 August 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2273829
Show Author Affiliations
Dervis Vernani, Thales Alenia Space Switzerland, Ltd. (Switzerland)
Steffen Blum, Thales Alenia Space Switzerland, Ltd. (Switzerland)
Thibault Seure, Thales Alenia Space Switzerland, Ltd. (Switzerland)
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Uwe Schaeffer, Airbus Defence and Space GmbH (Germany)
Nicolas Lièvre, Micos Engineering GmbH (Switzerland)
Adeeb Nazeeruddin, Micos Engineering GmbH (Switzerland)
Nicolas M. Barrière, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Maximilien J. Collon, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Levent Cibik, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Michael Krumrey, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Peter Müller, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Vadim Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10399:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII
Stephen L. O'Dell; Giovanni Pareschi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?