Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Development of ATHENA mirror modules
Author(s): Maximilien J. Collon; Giuseppe Vacanti; Nicolas M. Barrière; Boris Landgraf; Ramses Günther; Mark Vervest; Roy van der Hoeven; Danielle Dekker; Abdel Chatbi; David Girou; Jessica Sforzini; Marco W. Beijersbergen; Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Sebastiaan Fransen; Brian Shortt; Jeroen Haneveld; Arenda Koelewijn; Karin Booysen; Maurice Wijnperle; Coen van Baren; Alexander Eigenraam; Peter Müller; Michael Krumrey; Vadim Burwitz; Giovanni Pareschi; Sonny Massahi; Finn E. Christensen; Desirée Della Monica Ferreira; Giuseppe Valsecchi; Paul Oliver; Ian Checquer; Kevin Ball; Karl-Heinz Zuknik
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Silicon Pore Optics (SPO), developed at cosine with the European Space Agency (ESA) and several academic and industrial partners, provides lightweight, yet stiff, high-resolution x-ray optics. This technology enables ATHENA to reach an unprecedentedly large effective area in the 0.2 - 12 keV band with an angular resolution better than 5''. After developing the technology for 50 m and 20 m focal length, this year has witnessed the first 12 m focal length mirror modules being produced. The technology development is also gaining momentum with three different radii under study: mirror modules for the inner radii (Rmin = 250 mm), outer radii (Rmax = 1500 mm) and middle radii (Rmid = 737 mm) are being developed in parallel.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 August 2017
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 10399, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII, 103990C (29 August 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2273704
Show Author Affiliations
Maximilien J. Collon, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Vacanti, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Nicolas M. Barrière, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Boris Landgraf, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Ramses Günther, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Mark Vervest, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Roy van der Hoeven, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Danielle Dekker, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Abdel Chatbi, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
David Girou, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Jessica Sforzini, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Marco W. Beijersbergen, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Sebastiaan Fransen, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Brian Shortt, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Jeroen Haneveld, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Arenda Koelewijn, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Karin Booysen, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Maurice Wijnperle, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Coen van Baren, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Alexander Eigenraam, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Peter Müller, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Michael Krumrey, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Vadim Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Giovanni Pareschi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Sonny Massahi, DTU Space (Denmark)
Finn E. Christensen, DTU Space (Denmark)
Desirée Della Monica Ferreira, DTU Space (Denmark)
Giuseppe Valsecchi, Media Lario Technologies S.r.l. (Italy)
Paul Oliver, Teledyne e2v UK Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Ian Checquer, Teledyne e2v UK Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Kevin Ball, Teledyne e2v UK Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Karl-Heinz Zuknik, OHB-System AG (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10399:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII
Stephen L. O'Dell; Giovanni Pareschi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?