Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Characterization of the LCLS “nanosecond two-bunch” mode for x-ray speckle visibility spectroscopy experiments
Author(s): Yanwen Sun; Diling Zhu; Sanghoon Song; Franz-Josef Decker; Mark Sutton; Karl Ludwig; Wojciech Roseker; Gerhard Grübel; Stephan Hruszkewycz; G. Brian Stephenson; Paul H. Fuoss; Aymeric Robert
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The generation of two X-ray pulses with tunable nanosecond scale time separations has recently been demonstrated at the Linac Coherent Light Source using an accelerator based technique. This approach offers the opportunity to extend X-ray Photon Correlation Spectroscopy techniques to the yet unexplored regime of nanosecond timescales by means of X-ray Speckle Visibility Spectroscopy. As the two pulses originate from two independent Spontaneous Amplified Stimulated Emission processes, the beam properties fluctuate from pulse pair to pulse pair, but as well between the individual pulses within a pair. However, two-pulse XSVS experiments require the intensity of the individual pulses to be either identical in the ideal case, or with a accurately known intensity ratio. We present the design and performances of a non-destructive intensity diagnostic based on measurement of scattering from a transparent target using a high-speed photo-detector. Individual pulses within a pulse pair with time delays as short as 0.7 ns can be resolved. Moreover, using small angle coherent scattering, we characterize the averaged spatial overlap of the focused pulse pairs. The multi-shot average-speckle contrasts from individual pulses and pulse pairs are compared.

Paper Details

Date Published: 23 May 2017
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 10237, Advances in X-ray Free-Electron Lasers Instrumentation IV, 102370N (23 May 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2265454
Show Author Affiliations
Yanwen Sun, SLAC National Accelerator Lab. (United States)
Diling Zhu, SLAC National Accelerator Lab. (United States)
Sanghoon Song, SLAC National Accelerator Lab. (United States)
Franz-Josef Decker, SLAC National Accelerator Lab. (United States)
Mark Sutton, McGill Univ. (Canada)
Karl Ludwig, Boston Univ. (United States)
Wojciech Roseker, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (Germany)
Gerhard Grübel, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (Germany)
Stephan Hruszkewycz, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
G. Brian Stephenson, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Paul H. Fuoss, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Aymeric Robert, SLAC National Accelerator Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10237:
Advances in X-ray Free-Electron Lasers Instrumentation IV
Thomas Tschentscher; Luc Patthey, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?