Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Spin Hall effect in 5d Au: W transition metal alloys (Conference Presentation)
Author(s): Piotr Laczkowski; Juan Carlos Rojas-Sánchez; Williams Savero-Torres; Nicolas Reyren; Cyrile Deranlot; Jean-Marie George; Henri Jaffrès; Yu Fu; Alain Marty; Patrick Warin; Jean-Philippe Attané; Laurent Vila; Albert Fert

Paper Abstract

The spin Hall effect (SHE) [1] allows for a reciprocal conversion between charge and spin currents using the spin orbit coupling which can be at the core of several promising spintronics devices. The spin orbit interaction is used to produce a transverse flow of spin or charge in response to a longitudinal excitation, these are the direct or inverse SHE. The spin Hall angle (SHA), the ratio of longitudinal and transverse electronic conductivities, is the characterising parameter of this conversion. So far, large SHA have been reported in transition metals like Pt, Pd, W, Beta-Ta and in a few alloys with large spin orbit coupling impurities: CuIr, CuBi or CuPb [2]. In this presentation we will report on our study of the SHA in Au based alloys [3] which exhibits a non-monotonic relation with the impurity concentration. In the regime of diluted alloys this behaviour suggests the dominent side-jump contribution to the spin Hall resistivity, thus allowing precise tuning of the SHA as a function of impurities concentration. We will present our analyses results by using the Lateral Spin Valves, with newly introduced spin-absorption model adapted to the case of the strong spin-orbit interactions and by using complementary Ferromagnetic-Resonance/Spin-Pumping technique thus demonstrating very large SHA of the order of 15 % or even larger. [1] J.E. Hirsch, PRL 83, 1834 (1999). [2] Y. Niimi et al., PRL 106, 126601 (2011), PRL 109, 156602 (2012), PRB 89, 054401 (2014). [3] P. Laczkowski et al., APL 104, 142403 (2014) [4] E. Saitoh, et al., APL 88, 182509 (2006).

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 November 2016
PDF: 1 pages
Proc. SPIE 9931, Spintronics IX, 993108 (4 November 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2238694
Show Author Affiliations
Piotr Laczkowski, Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
Juan Carlos Rojas-Sánchez, Institut Jean Lamour (France)
Williams Savero-Torres, Institut Nanosciences et Cryogénie (France)
Nicolas Reyren, Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
Cyrile Deranlot, Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
Jean-Marie George, Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
Henri Jaffrès, Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
Yu Fu, Institut Nanosciences et Cryogénie (France)
Alain Marty, Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Institut Nanosciences et Cryogénie (France)
Patrick Warin, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Institut Nanosciences et Cryogénie (France)
Jean-Philippe Attané, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Institut Nanosciences et Cryogénie (France)
Laurent Vila, Institut Nanosciences et Cryogénie (France)
Albert Fert, Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9931:
Spintronics IX
Henri-Jean Drouhin; Jean-Eric Wegrowe; Manijeh Razeghi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top