Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper • Open Access

The JWST/NIRSpec exoplanet exposure time calculator
Author(s): Louise Dyregaard Nielsen; Pierre Ferruit; Giovanna Giardino; Stephan Birkmann; Antonio García Muñoz; Jeff Valenti; Kate Isaak; Catarina Alves de Oliveira; Torsten Böker; Nora Lützgendorf; Timothy Rawle; Marco Sirianni

Paper Abstract

The James Webb Space Telescope (JWST), with its unprecedented sensitivity, will provide a unique set of tools for the study of transiting exoplanets and their atmospheres. The Near Infrared Spectrograph (NIRSpec) is one of four scientific instruments on JWST and offers a high-contrast aperture-spectroscopy mode developed specifically for exoplanet observations. Here we present the NIRSpec Exoplanet Exposure Time Calculator (NEETC) software, an exposure time calculator optimized to evaluate the signal-to-noise ratio and simulate spectra for observations of transiting exoplanets. The NEETC is being developed to help the NIRSpec instrument team, and ultimately future JWST users, to fully investigate NIRSpec’s observation modes and the feasibility of exoplanet observations. We give examples of how the NEETC can be used to prepare observations, and present results highlighting the capabilities and limitations of NIRSpec.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 July 2016
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 9904, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2016: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave, 99043O (29 July 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2231624
Show Author Affiliations
Louise Dyregaard Nielsen, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Pierre Ferruit, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Giovanna Giardino, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Stephan Birkmann, European Space Agency (United States)
Antonio García Muñoz, Technische Univ. Berlin (Germany)
Jeff Valenti, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Kate Isaak, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Catarina Alves de Oliveira, European Space Agency (United States)
Torsten Böker, European Space Agency (United States)
Nora Lützgendorf, European Space Agency (United States)
Timothy Rawle, European Space Agency (United States)
Marco Sirianni, European Space Agency (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9904:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2016: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave
Howard A. MacEwen; Giovanni G. Fazio; Makenzie Lystrup; Natalie Batalha; Nicholas Siegler; Edward C. Tong, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?