Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Manufacturing process for the WEAVE prime focus corrector optics for the 4.2m William Hershel Telescope
Author(s): Emilie Lhomé; Tibor Agócs; Don Carlos Abrams; Kevin M. Dee; Kevin F. Middleton; Ian A. Tosh; Attila Jaskó; Peter Connor; Dave Cochrane; Luke Gers; Graeme Jonas; Andrew Rakich; Chris R. Benn; Marc Balcells; Scott C. Trager; Gavin B. Dalton; Esperanza Carrasco; Antonella Vallenari; Piercarlo Bonifacio; J. Alfonso L. Aguerri
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

In this paper, we detail the manufacturing process for the lenses that will constitute the new two-degree field-of-view Prime Focus Corrector (PFC) for the 4.2m William Herschel Telescope (WHT) optimised for the upcoming WEAVE Multi-Object Spectroscopy (MOS) facility. The corrector, including an Atmospheric Dispersion Corrector (ADC), is made of six large lenses, the largest being 1.1-meter diameter. We describe how the prescriptions of the optical design were translated into manufacturing specifications for the blanks and lenses. We explain how the as-built glass blank parameters were fed back into the optical design and how the specifications for the lenses were subsequently modified. We review the critical issues for the challenging manufacturing process and discuss the trade-offs that were necessary to deliver the lenses while maintaining the optimal optical performance. A short description of the lens optical testing is also presented. Finally, the subsequent manufacturing steps, including assembly, integration, and alignment are outlined.

Paper Details

Date Published: 22 July 2016
PDF: 16 pages
Proc. SPIE 9912, Advances in Optical and Mechanical Technologies for Telescopes and Instrumentation II, 991245 (22 July 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2230648
Show Author Affiliations
Emilie Lhomé, Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (Spain)
Tibor Agócs, ASTRON (Netherlands)
Don Carlos Abrams, Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (Spain)
Kevin M. Dee, Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (Spain)
Kevin F. Middleton, STFC Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Ian A. Tosh, STFC Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Attila Jaskó, Konkoly Observatory (Hungary)
Peter Connor, Callaghan Innovation (New Zealand)
Dave Cochrane, Callaghan Innovation (New Zealand)
Luke Gers, Callaghan Innovation (New Zealand)
Graeme Jonas, Callaghan Innovation (New Zealand)
Andrew Rakich, Callaghan Innovation (New Zealand)
Chris R. Benn, Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (Spain)
Marc Balcells, Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (Spain)
Scott C. Trager, Univ. of Groningen (Netherlands)
Gavin B. Dalton, STFC Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Univ. of Oxford (United Kingdom)
Esperanza Carrasco, INAOE (Mexico)
Antonella Vallenari, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Piercarlo Bonifacio, GEPI, Observatoire de Paris, PSL Research Univ., CNRS, Univ. Paris Diderot (France)
J. Alfonso L. Aguerri, Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (Spain)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9912:
Advances in Optical and Mechanical Technologies for Telescopes and Instrumentation II
Ramón Navarro; James H. Burge, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?