Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Titanium oxide electron-selective layers for contact passivation of thin-film crystalline silicon solar cells
Author(s): Yi Liu; Yusi Chen; David T. LaFehr; Yen Su; Yijie Huo; Yangsen Kang; Huiyang Deng; Jieyang Jia; Li Zhao; Mengyang Yuan; Zheng Lyu; Daniel DeWitt; Max A. Vilgalys; Kai Zang; Xiaochi Chen; Ching-Ying Lu; Theodore I. Kamins; James S. Harris
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

In crystalline silicon (c-Si) solar cells, carrier selective contacts are among the remaining issues to be addressed in order to reach the theoretical efficiency limit. Especially in ultra-thin-film c-Si solar cells with small volumes and higher carrier concentrations, contact recombination is more critical to the overall performance. In this paper, the advantages of using TiOX as electron-selective layers for contact passivation in c-Si solar cells are analyzed. We characterize the metal/TiOX/n-Si electron-selective contact with the contact recombination factor J0c and the contact resistivity ρc for the first time. Experimental results show that both J0c and ρc decrease after the insertion of TiOX. In addition, the effect of post-deposition rapid-thermal-annealing (RTA) at different temperatures is also evaluated. The best J0c of 5.5 pA/cm2 and the lowest ρc of 13.6 mΩ·cm2 are achieved after the RTA process. This work reveals the potential of TiOX as an electron-selective layer for contact passivation to enable high-efficiency ultra-thin c-Si solar cells with a low cost.

Paper Details

Date Published: 27 February 2016
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 9749, Oxide-based Materials and Devices VII, 97491J (27 February 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2213540
Show Author Affiliations
Yi Liu, Peking Univ. (China)
Yusi Chen, Stanford Univ. (United States)
David T. LaFehr, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Yen Su, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Yijie Huo, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Yangsen Kang, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Huiyang Deng, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Jieyang Jia, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Li Zhao, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Mengyang Yuan, Tsinghua Univ. (China)
Zheng Lyu, Tsinghua Univ. (China)
Daniel DeWitt, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Max A. Vilgalys, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Kai Zang, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Xiaochi Chen, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Ching-Ying Lu, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Theodore I. Kamins, Stanford Univ. (United States)
James S. Harris, Stanford Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9749:
Oxide-based Materials and Devices VII
Ferechteh H. Teherani; David C. Look; David J. Rogers, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top