Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Mode competition in a high-current high-voltage Gyro-BWO experiment
Author(s): Thomas A. Spencer; Ralph A. N. Peredo; Moe Joseph Arman; Kyle J. Hendricks; Kirk E. Hackett; Rudy Sedillo; Dale R. Ralph; Michael C. Scott; Ronald M. Gilgenbach
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Air Force Phillips Laboratory Gyro-BWO experiment is utilizing the RAMBO pulser, with electron beam parameters of: VD equals 300-800 kV; ID equals 1-50 kA; pulselength equals 1-3 microsecond(s) . An annular electron beam of approximately 1-3 kA is produced by an annular aluminum cathode. The interaction cavity is designed to radiate in the frequency range of 4.2-5.5 GHz in a TE01 mode. The interaction cavity has a radius of 4.37 cm and a length of 15 cm. A diode magnetic field is used for a field immersed diode, and is tunable from 0-2 kG. The interaction region magnetic field is tunable from 2-7 kG. The diode and interaction magnetic fields are used together to provide a magnetic compression of the electron beam. C-band bevel-cut antennas located at the diode end of the experiment are used to extract the backward wave. Experiments have given microwave output pulselengths of 40-500 ns, on a voltage pulselength of 200-1400 ns. Extracted power range from 0.1 to 4 MW, and is voltage dependent. Nearly constant rf power can be extracted from 4.2-5.0 GHz in small passband filters. Breakdown of the air in the C-band waveguide has been observed during operation in the TE21 mode. Evidence of mode competition exists in the form of two different frequency values appearing at the same time. A (lambda) /4 slotted cavity has been designed, as well as a helical slotted cavity, in an effort to suppress the TEn1 modes, n does not equal 0. Analysis and numerical simulations from the 2 1/2-D PIC code MAGIC are presented, as well as the latest experimental results.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 September 1995
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 2557, Intense Microwave Pulses III, (8 September 1995); doi: 10.1117/12.218570
Show Author Affiliations
Thomas A. Spencer, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Ralph A. N. Peredo, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Moe Joseph Arman, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Kyle J. Hendricks, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Kirk E. Hackett, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Rudy Sedillo, Maxwell Lab., Inc. (United States)
Dale R. Ralph, Maxwell Lab., Inc. (United States)
Michael C. Scott, Maxwell Lab., Inc. (United States)
Ronald M. Gilgenbach, Univ. of Michigan (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2557:
Intense Microwave Pulses III
Howard E. Brandt, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top