Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Plasma-flash radiography utilizing a molybdenum target in dentistry
Author(s): Mariko Yamamoto; Akihito Takabe; Kimio Sakamaki; Eiichi Sato; Kei Takahashi; Michiaki Sagae; Teiji Oizumi; Yasuomi Hayasi; Katsuaki Sasaki; Yoshiharu Tamakawa; Toru Yanagisawa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The construction and the radiographic characteristics of a plasma flash x-ray generator having a molybdenum-target (anode tip) triode are described. This generator was primarily designed in order to perform soft radiography in dental medicine and employed the following essential components: a high-voltage power supply, a low-impedance coaxial transmission line with a gap switch, a coaxial oil condenser of 0.2 (mu) F, a turbo-molecular pump, a Krytron pulser as a trigger device, and a flash x-ray tube. The high-voltage main condenser of 0.2 (mu) F was charged from 40 to 60 kV by the power supply, and the electric charges in the condenser were discharged to the tube after closing the gap switch. Because this tube employed a long target, the plasma x-ray source which consists of molybdenum ions and electrons was easily produced by the target evaporating. The maximum tube voltage was nearly equivalent to the initial charge voltage of the main condenser, and the maximum current had a value of about 25 kA with a charging voltage of 60 kV. The average width of flash x rays was less than 1 microsecond(s) , and the time-integrated x-ray intensity with a charging voltage of 60 kV was approximately 20 (mu) C/kg at 1.0 m per pulse. The characteristic K-series intensity substantially increased according to increases in the charged voltage. High-speed dental radiography was performed using a laser timing switch and a trigger-delay device.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 September 1995
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 2549, Ultrahigh- and High-Speed Photography, Videography, and Photonics '95, (1 September 1995); doi: 10.1117/12.218307
Show Author Affiliations
Mariko Yamamoto, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Akihito Takabe, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Kimio Sakamaki, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Eiichi Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Kei Takahashi, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Michiaki Sagae, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Teiji Oizumi, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Yasuomi Hayasi, Hachinohe National College of Technology (Japan)
Katsuaki Sasaki, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Yoshiharu Tamakawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Toru Yanagisawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2549:
Ultrahigh- and High-Speed Photography, Videography, and Photonics '95
George A. Kyrala; Donald R. Snyder, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?