Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Multilayer x-ray mirrors for the objective crystal spectrometer on the Spectrum Roentgen Gamma satellite
Author(s): Eric Louis; Eberhard Adolf Spiller; Salim Abdali; Finn Erland Christensen; Harm-Jan Voorma; Norbert B. Koster; Peter K. Frederiksen; Charles Tarrio; Eric M. Gullikson; Fred Bijkerk
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We carried out experiments to determine the optimum parameters for the production of multilayer x-ray mirrors for the lambda equals 4.4 - 7.1 nm range using electron beam evaporation and ion-polishing. We report on the deposition of Co/C and Ni/C coatings, of which we polished the metal layers with Kr+- and Ar+- ions of 300, 500, and 1000 eV. We examined the effect of different polishing parameters on the smoothening of the Co- and Ni-layers. The in-situ reflectivity of lambda equals 3.16 nm during deposition and the ex-situ grazing incidence reflectivity of Cu-K(alpha ) radiation (lambda equals 0.154 nm) were used to analyze the coatings. We found optimum performance of the mirrors when applying polishing for 40 s with 500 eV Kr+-ions at an angle of 20 degrees and an ion beam current of 20 mA. Using these parameters, we produced Co/C multilayer coatings on forty flat super-polished 6 multiplied by 6 cm2 Si (111) crystals for the Objective Crystal Spectrometer on the Russian Spectrum Rontgen Gamma satellite. The coatings on the flight crystals have a period Lambda of 3.95 plus or minus 0.02 nm and a reflectivity of more than 8% averaged over s- and p-polarization over the entire wavelength range of interest. We present a detailed analysis of the coatings on the crystals.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 June 1995
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 2515, X-Ray and Extreme Ultraviolet Optics, (20 June 1995); doi: 10.1117/12.212588
Show Author Affiliations
Eric Louis, FOM-Institute for Plasma Physics Rijnhuizen (Netherlands)
Eberhard Adolf Spiller, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Salim Abdali, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Finn Erland Christensen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Harm-Jan Voorma, FOM-Institute for Plasma Physics Rijnhuizen (Netherlands)
Norbert B. Koster, FOM-Institute for Plasma Physics Rijnhuizen (Netherlands)
Peter K. Frederiksen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Charles Tarrio, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States)
Eric M. Gullikson, Lawrence Berkeley Lab. (United States)
Fred Bijkerk, FOM-Institute for Plasma Physics Rijnhuizen (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2515:
X-Ray and Extreme Ultraviolet Optics
Richard B. Hoover; Arthur B. C. Walker Jr., Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?