Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

X-ray characterization of an XMM mandrel at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
Author(s): Philippe Gondoin; Andreas K. Freund; Samuel Gougeon; Daniel de Chambure; Kees van Katwijk; Danielle R. Labergerie; Ulrich Lienert; N. Schulz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The High Throughput X-Ray Spectroscopy Mission (XMM) is a `Cornerstone' project in the ESA long-term Programme for Space Science. The satellite observatory uses three grazing incidence telescopes coupled to reflection grating spectrometers and x-ray CCD cameras. Each XMM telescope consists of 58 Wolter I mirrors that are replicated from superpolished nickel coated mandrels. The mirror figure and finish specifications are tight and therefore it is essential to assess the surface quality of the mandrels. This is done in the workshop by a metrology system involving different profilometers. However, the performance of a mandrel can also be directly determined with x-ray tests that allow the user to verify the measurements of the workshop instruments. The ESRF synchrotron storage ring produces x-ray beams of very high quality and has a beamline dedicated to high resolution tests of x-ray optical components. One XMM mandrel was characterized on this beamline by a three axis x-ray scattering technique. Power spectral density functions and profile slopes were derived from the x-ray measurements and compared to those determined by the metrology instruments. The present paper describes the x-ray experiment and discusses its results in the context of the XMM mandrel manufacturing program.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 June 1995
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 2515, X-Ray and Extreme Ultraviolet Optics, (20 June 1995); doi: 10.1117/12.212578
Show Author Affiliations
Philippe Gondoin, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)
Andreas K. Freund, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Samuel Gougeon, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Daniel de Chambure, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)
Kees van Katwijk, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)
Danielle R. Labergerie, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Ulrich Lienert, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
N. Schulz, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2515:
X-Ray and Extreme Ultraviolet Optics
Richard B. Hoover; Arthur B. C. Walker Jr., Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top