Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Structural design of ketal and acetal blocking groups in two-component chemically amplified positive DUV resists
Author(s): Carlo Mertesdorf; Norbert Muenzel; Heinz E. Holzwarth; Pasquale A. Falcigno; Hans-Thomas Schacht; Ottmar Rohde; Reinhard Schulz; Sydney G. Slater; David Frey; Omkaram Nalamasu; Allen G. Timko; Thomas X. Neenan
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

In the present study, protecting groups of moderate stability, such as acetals and ketals, were investigated as pendant blocking groups in polyvinyl phenols. Polymers were obtained by reacting enol ethers with the phenolic side groups to form acetal or ketal blocked phenols. Decomposition temperatures, glass transition temperatures, and molecular weights of the resulting polymers were monitored and correlated with the protecting group structure. Stability of the protecting groups can be explained by protonation occurring at either of the two oxygen sites, making two cleavage routes possible. Secondary reactions of the released protecting groups in the resist film were investigated and discussed. The structure of the protecting group was designed in order to meet basic resist properties such as resolution/linearity, DOF, post exposure delay latitude and thermal stability. A Canon FPA 4500 (NA equals 0.37) and a GCA XLS exposure tool (NA equals 0.53) were used for the optimization process. A preoptimized resist formulation based on the above criteria exhibits 0.23 micrometers line/space resolution, 0.8 micrometers focus latitude at 0.25 micrometers resolution and approximately two hours post exposure delay latitude.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 June 1995
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 2438, Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XII, (9 June 1995); doi: 10.1117/12.210382
Show Author Affiliations
Carlo Mertesdorf, OCG Microelectronic Materials AG (Switzerland)
Norbert Muenzel, OCG Microelectronic Materials AG (Switzerland)
Heinz E. Holzwarth, OCG Microelectronic Materials AG (Switzerland)
Pasquale A. Falcigno, OCG Microelectronic Materials AG (Switzerland)
Hans-Thomas Schacht, OCG Microelectronic Materials AG (Switzerland)
Ottmar Rohde, OCG Microelectronic Materials AG (Switzerland)
Reinhard Schulz, OCG Microelectronic Materials AG (Switzerland)
Sydney G. Slater, OCG Microelectronic Materials, Inc. (United States)
David Frey, OCG Microelectronic Materials, Inc. (United States)
Omkaram Nalamasu, AT&T Bell Labs. (United States)
Allen G. Timko, AT&T Bell Labs. (United States)
Thomas X. Neenan, AT&T Bell Labs. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2438:
Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XII
Robert D. Allen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?