Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Decentralized nonimaging micro-optical concentrator
Author(s): Tian Gu; William C. Sweatt; Gautam Agrawal; Bradley H. Jared; Ben J. Anderson; Ron S. Goeke; Brenton Elisberg; Scott M. Paap; Jose Luis Cruz-Campa; Vipin Gupta; Murat Okandan; Gregory N. Nielson; Michael W. Haney
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

A novel non-imaging micro-concentrator concept and its development in Sandia National Lab’s microsystems-enabled photovoltaics (MEPV) program are described in this paper. Key notions of the compact 2-element optical concentrator are toroidal lens surfaces that decentralize the focused beam and a reflective cone structure that enhances light collection and illumination onto micro-scale solar cells (e.g., ~100’s microns in diameter). The optical configuration therefore provides a low-intensity, hot-spot-free illumination pattern on the receiver while achieving a concentration-acceptance angle product (CAP) over 1. Designs taking into account practical factors (such as fabrication capabilities, misalignments) achieve a 400X geometric concentration with a ±2.4° (90% of peak) acceptance angle (CAP = 0.84) and a 600X geometric concentration with a ±2° acceptance angle (CAP = 0.85), allowing low cost, mass production using injection molding. Development and experimental evaluation of a baseline prototype module is also described.

Paper Details

Date Published: 5 September 2014
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 9191, Nonimaging Optics: Efficient Design for Illumination and Solar Concentration XI, 91910G (5 September 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2062286
Show Author Affiliations
Tian Gu, Univ. of Delaware (United States)
William C. Sweatt, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Gautam Agrawal, Univ. of Delaware (United States)
Bradley H. Jared, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Ben J. Anderson, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Ron S. Goeke, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Brenton Elisberg, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Scott M. Paap, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Jose Luis Cruz-Campa, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Vipin Gupta, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Murat Okandan, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Gregory N. Nielson, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Michael W. Haney, Univ. of Delaware (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9191:
Nonimaging Optics: Efficient Design for Illumination and Solar Concentration XI
Roland Winston; Jeffrey M. Gordon, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?