Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Absorption characteristics of mid-wave infrared type-II superlattices
Author(s): Gamini Ariyawansa; Elizabeth Steenbergen; Luke J. Bissell; Joshua M. Duran; John E. Scheihing; Michael T. Eismann
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Recently, a new strategy used to achieve high operation temperature (HOT) infrared photodetectors including III-V compound materials (bulk materials and type-II superlattices) and cascade devices has been observed. Another method to reduce detector’s dark current is reducing volume of detector material via a concept of photon trapping detector. The barrier detectors are designed to reduce dark current associated with Shockley-Read (SR) processes and to decrease influence of surface leakage current without impeding photocurrent (signal). In consequence, absence of a depletion region in barrier detectors offers a way to overcome the disadvantage of large depletion dark currents. So, they are typically implemented in materials with relatively poor SR lifetimes, such as all III-V compounds. From considerations presented in the paper results that despite numerous advantages of III-V barrier detectors over present-day detection technologies, including reduced tunneling and surface leakage currents, normal-incidence absorption, and suppressed Auger recombination, the promise of a superior performance of these detectors in comparison to HgCdTe photodiodes, has not been yet realized. The dark current density is higher than that of bulk HgCdTe photodiodes, especially in MWIR range. To attain their full potential, the following essential technological limitations such as short carrier lifetime, passivation, and heterostructure engineering, need to be overcome.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 June 2014
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 9070, Infrared Technology and Applications XL, 90701J (26 June 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2057506
Show Author Affiliations
Gamini Ariyawansa, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Elizabeth Steenbergen, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Luke J. Bissell, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Joshua M. Duran, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
John E. Scheihing, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Michael T. Eismann, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9070:
Infrared Technology and Applications XL
Bjørn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Charles M. Hanson; Paul R. Norton, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?