Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Making the ATHENA optics using silicon pore optics
Author(s): Maximilien J. Collon; Marcelo Ackermann; Ramses Günther; Abdelhakim Chatbi; Giuseppe Vacanti; Mark Vervest; Alex Yanson; Marco W. Beijersbergen; Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Jeroen Haneveld; Mark Olde Riekerink; Arenda Koelewijn; Coen van Baren; Peter Müller; Michael Krumrey; Vadim Burwitz; Giorgia Sironi; Mauro Ghigo
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Silicon Pore Optics, after 10 years of development, forms now the basis for future large (L) class astrophysics Xray observatories, such as the ATHENA mission to study the hot and energetic universe, matching the L2 science theme recently selected by ESA for launch in 2028. The scientific requirements result in an optical design that demands high angular resolution (5“) and large effective area (2 m2 at a few keV) of an X-ray lens with a focal length of 12 to14 m. Silicon Pore Optics was initially based on long (25 to 50 m) focal length telescope designs, which could achieve several arc second angular resolution by curving the silicon mirror in only one direction (conical approximation). With the advent of shorter focal length missions we started to develop mirrors having a secondary curvature, allowing the production of Wolter-I type optics, which are on axis aberration-free. In this paper we will present the new manufacturing process, discuss the impact of the ATHENA optics design on the technology development and present the results of the latest X-ray test campaigns.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 July 2014
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 9144, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2014: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray, 91442G (24 July 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2057347
Show Author Affiliations
Maximilien J. Collon, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Marcelo Ackermann, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Ramses Günther, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Abdelhakim Chatbi, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Vacanti, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Mark Vervest, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Alex Yanson, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Marco W. Beijersbergen, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Jeroen Haneveld, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Mark Olde Riekerink, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Arenda Koelewijn, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Coen van Baren, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Peter Müller, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Michael Krumrey, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Vadim Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Giorgia Sironi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Mauro Ghigo, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9144:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2014: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray
Tadayuki Takahashi; Jan-Willem A. den Herder; Mark Bautz, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?