Share Email Print
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The TMT first light Adaptive Optics (AO) facility consists of the Narrow Field Infra-Red AO System (NFIRAOS) and the associated Laser Guide Star Facility (LGSF). NFIRAOS is a 60 × 60 laser guide star (LGS) multi-conjugate AO (MCAO) system, which provides uniform, diffraction-limited performance in the J, H, and K bands over 17-30 arc sec diameter fields with 50 per cent sky coverage at the galactic pole, as required to support the TMT science cases. NFIRAOS includes two deformable mirrors, six laser guide star wavefront sensors, and three low-order, infrared, natural guide star wavefront sensors within each client instrument. The first light LGSF system includes six sodium lasers required to generate the NFIRAOS laser guide stars. In this paper, we will provide an update on the progress in designing, modeling and validating the TMT first light AO systems and their components over the last two years. This will include pre-final design and prototyping activities for NFIRAOS, preliminary design and prototyping activities for the LGSF, design and prototyping for the deformable mirrors, fabrication and tests for the visible detectors, benchmarking and comparison of different algorithms and processing architecture for the Real Time Controller (RTC) and development and tests of prototype candidate lasers. Comprehensive and detailed AO modeling is continuing to support the design and development of the first light AO facility. Main modeling topics studied during the last two years include further studies in the area of wavefront error budget, sky coverage, high precision astrometry for the galactic center and other observations, high contrast imaging with NFIRAOS and its first light instruments, Point Spread Function (PSF) reconstruction for LGS MCAO, LGS photon return and sophisticated low order mode temporal filtering.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 July 2014
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 9148, Adaptive Optics Systems IV, 91480X (21 July 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2056863
Show Author Affiliations
C. Boyer, Thirty Meter Telescope Observatory Corp. (United States)
Sean Adkins, W. M. Keck Observatory (United States)
David R. Andersen, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Jenny Atwood, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Yong Bo, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (China)
Peter Byrnes, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Kris Caputa, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Jeff Cavaco, AOA Xinetics (United States)
Brent Ellerbroek, Thirty Meter Telescope Observatory Corp. (United States)
Luc Gilles, Thirty Meter Telescope Observatory Corp. (United States)
James Gregory, MIT Lincoln Lab. (United States)
Glen Herriot, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Paul Hickson, The Univ. of British Columbia (Canada)
Zoran Ljusic, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Darren Manter, AOA Xinetics (United States)
Christian Marois, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Angel Otárola, Thirty Meter Telescope Observatory Corp. (United States)
Hubert Pagès, CILAS (France)
Matthias Schoeck, Thirty Meter Telescope Observatory Corp. (United States)
Jean-Christophe Sinquin, CILAS (France)
Malcolm Smith, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Paolo Spano, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Kei Szeto, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Jinlong Tang, Institute of Optics and Electronics (China)
Tony Travouillon, Thirty Meter Telescope Observatory Corp. (United States)
Jean-Pierre Véran, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Lianqi Wang, Thirty Meter Telescope Observatory Corp. (United States)
Kai Wei, Institute of Optics and Electronics (China)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9148:
Adaptive Optics Systems IV
Enrico Marchetti; Laird M. Close; Jean-Pierre Véran, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?