Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Novel infrared polarimeter for the ESO CRIRES+ instrument
Author(s): Matthew Lockhart; Nikolai Piskunov; Eric Stempels; Michael Escuti; Ernesto Oliva; Hans-Ulrich Käufl; Ulrike Heiter; Thomas Marquart; Guillem Anglada-Escude; Dietrich Baade; Paul Bristow; Reinhold J. Dorn; Roman Follert; Domingo Gojak; Jason H. Grunhut; Artie Hatzes; Michael Hilker; Derek Ives; Yves Jung; Florian Kerber; Barbara Klein; Jean-Louis Lizon; Tom Löwinger; Livia Origlia; Luca Pasquini; Jerome Paufique; Eszter Pozna; Ansgar Reiners; Ulf Seemann; Alain Smette; Jonathan Smoker; Elena Valenti
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The CRIRES infrared spectrograph at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) Very Large Telescope (VLT) facility will soon receive an upgrade. This upgrade will include the addition of a module for performing highresolution spectropolarimetry. The polarimetry module will incorporate a novel infrared beamsplitter based on polarization gratings (PGs). The beamsplitter produces a pair of infrared output beams, with opposite circular polarizations, which are then fed into the spectrograph. Visible light passes through the module virtually unaltered and is then available for use by the CRIRES adaptive optics system. We present the design of the polarimetry module and measurements of PG behavior in the 1 to 2.7 μm wavelength range.

Paper Details

Date Published: 28 July 2014
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 9147, Ground-based and Airborne Instrumentation for Astronomy V, 91478P (28 July 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2056367
Show Author Affiliations
Matthew Lockhart, Uppsala Univ. (Sweden)
Nikolai Piskunov, Uppsala Univ. (Sweden)
Eric Stempels, Uppsala Univ. (Sweden)
Michael Escuti, North Carolina State Univ. (United States)
Ernesto Oliva, INAF - Osservatorio Astrofisico di Arcetri (Italy)
Hans-Ulrich Käufl, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Ulrike Heiter, Uppsala Univ. (Sweden)
Thomas Marquart, Uppsala Univ. (Sweden)
Guillem Anglada-Escude, Georg-August-Univ. Göttingen (Germany)
Dietrich Baade, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Paul Bristow, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Reinhold J. Dorn, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Roman Follert, Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg (Germany)
Domingo Gojak, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Jason H. Grunhut, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Artie Hatzes, Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg (Germany)
Michael Hilker, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Derek Ives, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Yves Jung, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Florian Kerber, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Barbara Klein, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Jean-Louis Lizon, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Tom Löwinger, Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg (Germany)
Livia Origlia, INAF - Osservatorio Astrofisico di Arcetri (Italy)
Luca Pasquini, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Jerome Paufique, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Eszter Pozna, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Ansgar Reiners, Georg-August-Univ. (Germany)
Ulf Seemann, Georg-August-Univ. (Germany)
Alain Smette, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Jonathan Smoker, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Elena Valenti, European Southern Observatory (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9147:
Ground-based and Airborne Instrumentation for Astronomy V
Suzanne K. Ramsay; Ian S. McLean; Hideki Takami, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?