Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Preparing the optics technology to observe the hot universe
Author(s): Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Kotska Wallace; Brian Shortt; Sebastiaan Fransen; Maximilien Collon; Marcelo Ackermann; Giuseppe Vacanti; Ramses Guenther; Jeroen Haneveld; Mark Olde Riekerink; Coen van Baren; Dirk Kampf; Karl-Heinz Zuknik; Finn Christensen; Desiree Della Monica Ferreira; Anders Clemen Jakobsen; Michael Krumrey; Peter Müller; Vadim Burwitz; Giovanni Pareschi; Mauro Ghigo
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

With the selection of “The hot and energetic Universe” as science theme for ESA's second large class mission (L2) in the Cosmic Vision programme, work is focusing on the technology preparation for an advanced X-ray observatory. The core enabling technology for the high performance mirror is the Silicon Pore Optics (SPO) [1 to 23], a modular X-ray optics technology, which utilises processes and equipment developed for the semiconductor industry. The paper provides an overview of the programmatic background, the status of SPO technology and gives an outline of the development roadmap and activities undertaken and planned by ESA on optics, coatings [24 to 30] and test facilities [31, 33].

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 July 2014
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 9144, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2014: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray, 91442F (24 July 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2055920
Show Author Affiliations
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Kotska Wallace, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Brian Shortt, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Sebastiaan Fransen, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Maximilien Collon, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Marcelo Ackermann, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Vacanti, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Ramses Guenther, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Jeroen Haneveld, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Mark Olde Riekerink, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Coen van Baren, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Dirk Kampf, Kayser-Threde GmbH (Germany)
Karl-Heinz Zuknik, Kayser-Threde GmbH (Germany)
Finn Christensen, DTU Space (Denmark)
Desiree Della Monica Ferreira, DTU Space (Denmark)
Anders Clemen Jakobsen, DTU Space (Denmark)
Michael Krumrey, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Peter Müller, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Vadim Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Giovanni Pareschi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Mauro Ghigo, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9144:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2014: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray
Tadayuki Takahashi; Jan-Willem A. den Herder; Mark Bautz, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?