Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Characterization of optical polarization converters made by femtosecond laser writing
Author(s): Christiaan J. de Jong; Alireza Lajevardipour; Mindaugas Gecevičius; Martynas Beresna; Gediminas Seniutinas; Gediminas Gervinskas; Ričardas Buividas; Peter G. Kazansky; Yves Bellouard; Andrew H. A. Clayton; Saulius Juodkazis
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Recently, new types of silica polarization converters fabricated by femtosecond lasers have been introduced. These devices use spatially arranged nanogratings found under certain femtosecond laser exposure conditions in fused silica to create arbitrary polarization states by shaping spatially and locally the retardance of an incoming beam. Using this principle, radial and azimuthal polarization converters were demonstrated. These devices make use of a large density of femtosecond laser spots, introducing localized defects, affecting the performance of the converter. To optimize the writing and the post-processing annealing step of these kind of devices, here we introduce a novel fluorescence lifetime imaging microscope (FLIM) working with deep UV (240-280 nm) wavelength excitations. Specifically, we demonstrate the potential of this technique and more generally, how it can be used for characterizing a variety of femtosecond laser induced modifications in fused silica. This UV-FLIM can be used with micro-fluidic and bio-samples to characterize temporal characteristics of fluorescence.

Paper Details

Date Published: 7 December 2013
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 8923, Micro/Nano Materials, Devices, and Systems, 89231E (7 December 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2033928
Show Author Affiliations
Christiaan J. de Jong, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Alireza Lajevardipour, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Mindaugas Gecevičius, Univ. of Southampton (United Kingdom)
Martynas Beresna, Univ. of Southampton (United Kingdom)
Gediminas Seniutinas, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Gediminas Gervinskas, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Ričardas Buividas, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Peter G. Kazansky, Univ. of Southampton (United Kingdom)
Yves Bellouard, Technische Univ. Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Andrew H. A. Clayton, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Saulius Juodkazis, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Australian National Fabrication Facility (Australia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8923:
Micro/Nano Materials, Devices, and Systems
James Friend; H. Hoe Tan, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?