Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

X-ray optics developments at ESA
Author(s): Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Kotska Wallace; Brian Shortt; Sebastiaan Fransen; Nicola Rando; Maximilien Collon; Marcelo Ackermann; Giuseppe Vacanti; Ramses Günther; Jeroen Haneveld; Mark Olde Riekerink; Arenda Koelewijn; Coen van Baren; Dirk Kampf; Karl-Heintz Zuknik; Arnd Reutlinger; Finn Christensen; Desiree Della Monica Ferreira; Anders Clemen Jakobsen; Michael Krumrey; Peter Müller; Vadim Burwitz; Giovanni Pareschi; Mauro Ghigo; Marta Civitani; Laura Proserpio; Daniele Spiga; Stefano Basso; Bianca Salmaso; Daniele Gallieni; Matteo Tintori; Pierluigi Fumi; Francesco Martelli; Giancarlo Parodi; Ivan Ferrario; Ian Povey
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Future high energy astrophysics missions will require high performance novel X-ray optics to explore the Universe beyond the limits of the currently operating Chandra and Newton observatories. Innovative optics technologies are therefore being developed and matured by the European Space Agency (ESA) in collaboration with research institutions and industry, enabling leading-edge future science missions.

Silicon Pore Optics (SPO) [1 to 21] and Slumped Glass Optics (SGO) [22 to 29] are lightweight high performance X-ray optics technologies being developed in Europe, driven by applications in observatory class high energy astrophysics missions, aiming at angular resolutions of 5” and providing effective areas of one or more square meters at a few keV.

This paper reports on the development activities led by ESA, and the status of the SPO and SGO technologies, including progress on high performance multilayer reflective coatings [30 to 35]. In addition, the progress with the X-ray test facilities and associated beam-lines is discussed [36].

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 September 2013
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 8861, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VI, 88610L (26 September 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2024989
Show Author Affiliations
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Agency, ESTEC (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Agency, ESTEC (Netherlands)
Kotska Wallace, European Space Agency, ESTEC (Netherlands)
Brian Shortt, European Space Agency, ESTEC (Netherlands)
Sebastiaan Fransen, European Space Agency, ESTEC (Netherlands)
Nicola Rando, European Space Agency, ESTEC (Netherlands)
Maximilien Collon, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Marcelo Ackermann, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Vacanti, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Ramses Günther, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Jeroen Haneveld, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Mark Olde Riekerink, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Arenda Koelewijn, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Coen van Baren, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands )
Dirk Kampf, Kayser-Threde GmbH (Germany)
Karl-Heintz Zuknik, Kayser-Threde GmbH (Germany)
Arnd Reutlinger, Kayser-Threde GmbH (Germany)
Finn Christensen, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Desiree Della Monica Ferreira, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Anders Clemen Jakobsen, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Michael Krumrey, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Peter Müller, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Vadim Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Giovanni Pareschi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Mauro Ghigo, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Marta Civitani, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Laura Proserpio, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Daniele Spiga, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Stefano Basso, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Bianca Salmaso, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Daniele Gallieni, ADS International S.r.l. (Italy)
Matteo Tintori, ADS International S.r.l. (Italy)
Pierluigi Fumi, ADS International S.r.l. (Italy)
Francesco Martelli, BCV Progetti S.r.l. (Italy)
Giancarlo Parodi, BCV Progetti S.r.l. (Italy)
Ivan Ferrario, Media Lario Technologies S.r.l. (Italy)
Ian Povey, Tyndall National Institute (Ireland)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8861:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VI
Stephen L. O'Dell; Giovanni Pareschi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?