Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Hard x-ray nanofocusing with refractive x-ray optics: full beam characterization by ptychographic imaging
Author(s): Christian G. Schroer; Florian-Emanuel Brack; Roman Brendler; Susanne Hönig; Robert Hoppe; Jens Patommel; Stephan Ritter; Maria Scholz; Andreas Schropp; Frank Seiboth; Daniel Nilsson; Jussi Rahomäki; Fredrik Uhlén; Ulrich Vogt; Juliane Reinhardt; Gerald Falkenberg
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Hard x-ray scanning microscopy relies on small and intensive nanobeams. Refractive x-ray lenses are well suited to generate hard x-ray beams with lateral dimensions of 100 nm and below. The diffraction limited beam size of refractive x-ray lenses mainly depends on the focal length and the attenuation inside the lens material. The numerical aperture of refractive lenses scales with the inverse square root of the focal length until it reaches the critical angle of total reflection. We have used nanofocusing refractive x-ray lenses made of silicon to focus hard x-rays at 8 and 20 keV to (sub-)100 nm dimensions. Using ptychographic scanning coherent diffraction imaging we have characterized these nanobeams with high accuracy and sensitivity, measuring the full complex wave field in the focus. This gives access to the full caustic and aberrations of the x-ray optics.

Paper Details

Date Published: 27 September 2013
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 8848, Advances in X-Ray/EUV Optics and Components VIII, 884807 (27 September 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2024127
Show Author Affiliations
Christian G. Schroer, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Florian-Emanuel Brack, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Roman Brendler, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Susanne Hönig, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Robert Hoppe, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Jens Patommel, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Stephan Ritter, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Maria Scholz, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Andreas Schropp, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Frank Seiboth, Technische Univ. Dresden (Germany)
Daniel Nilsson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Jussi Rahomäki, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Fredrik Uhlén, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Ulrich Vogt, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Juliane Reinhardt, DESY (Germany)
Gerald Falkenberg, DESY (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8848:
Advances in X-Ray/EUV Optics and Components VIII
Ali Khounsary; Shunji Goto; Christian Morawe, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?