Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Difference in formation of ferromagnetic MnAs nanoclusters on III-V semiconducting nanowire templates
Author(s): Shinjiro Hara; Hiromu Fujimagari; Shinya Sakita; Masatoshi Yatago
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The authors report on the differences in ferromagnetic MnAs nanocluster formation on GaAs, GaAs/AlGaAs, GaAs/GaAsP, and InAs nanowire templates by combing selective-area metal-organic vapor phase epitaxy of semiconducting nanowires and endotaxial nanoclustering of MnAs. To characterize the dependences of MnAs nanocluster formation on semiconducting materials of the nanowire templates, GaAs, GaAs/AlGaAs core-shell, and GaAs/GaAsP core-shell nanowires have been grown at 750 °C, whereas InAs nanowires have been grown at 580 °C. MnAs nanoclusters are commonly and most frequently formed at six ridges between two {0-11} crystal facets on hexagonal prisms of III-V semiconducting nanowires. That is presumably because many atomic steps exist between the crystal facets. Here, MnAs nanoclusters are grown “into” the nanowires, as a result of the phenomenon of “endotaxy”. Manganese atoms on the nanowires surface form chemical bonds mainly with arsenic atoms of the nanowires, because only manganese organometallic source and hydrogen are supplied, i.e. no supply of arsenic hydride source during the endotaxy of MnAs. In the case of GaAs/GaAsP core-shell and InAs nanowires, however, MnAs nanoclusters are formed on the top {111}B surfaces of the nanowires, as well as at six ridges of the hexagonal prisms. The results obtained in the current work possibly show that the endotaxy of MnAs depends on the thermal stability of the nanowires and/or the strength of atomic bonds in the host materials of nanowires.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 September 2013
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 8820, Nanoepitaxy: Materials and Devices V, 88200V (19 September 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2023173
Show Author Affiliations
Shinjiro Hara, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
Hiromu Fujimagari, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
Shinya Sakita, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
Masatoshi Yatago, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8820:
Nanoepitaxy: Materials and Devices V
Nobuhiko P. Kobayashi; A. Alec Talin; Albert V. Davydov; M. Saif Islam, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?