Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Advanced Solar Observatory
Author(s): Arthur B. C. Walker II; Wayne L. Bailey; Edward L. Chupp; Hugh S. Hudson; Ronald L. Moore; William T. Roberts; Richard B. Hoover; Shi Tsan Wu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We describe a conceptual plan for the development of a comprehensive long duration solar space observatory, the Advanced Solar Observatory (ASO). The ASO is intended to provide solar astronomers with the observational power (spectral, spatial, and temporal resolution, sensitivity, and breadth of wavelength coverage) necessary to address fundamental problems relating to the solar convection zone and activity cycle, the thermal and nonthermal processes which control the transport of energy, mass and magnetic flux in the solar atmosphere, the generation of the solar wind, and the dynamics of the inner heliosphere. The Advanced Solar Observatory concept encompasses three proposed Space Station based instrument ensembles: (i) the High Resolution Telescope Cluster which includes far ultraviolet, extreme ultraviolet and x-ray telescopes, (ii) the Pinhole/Occulter Facility which includes Fourier transform and coded aperture hard x-ray and gamma ray telescopes and occulted ultraviolet and visible light coronagraphs, and (iii) the High Energy Facility which contains neutron, gamma ray and low frequency radio spectrometers. Two other facilities, the Orbiting Solar Laboratory (OSL), which will contain high resolution visible and ultraviolet telescopes on a free-flying platform, and a package of Global Dynamics Instruments will, with the Space Station ensembles, form a comprehensive capability for solar physics. We describe the scientific program of the ASO, current instrument concepts for the Space Station based ASO instrument ensembles, and pians for their accommodation on the Space Station. subject terms: solar atmosphere, soft x-ray, XUV, extreme ultraviolet (EUV), far ultraviolet (FUV), hard x-rays, gamma rays, neutrons

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 July 1990
PDF: 19 pages
Proc. SPIE 1235, Instrumentation in Astronomy VII, (1 July 1990); doi: 10.1117/12.19145
Show Author Affiliations
Arthur B. C. Walker II, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Wayne L. Bailey, Teledyne Brown Engineering (United States)
Edward L. Chupp, Univ. of New Hampshire (United States)
Hugh S. Hudson, Univ. of California/San Diego (Japan)
Ronald L. Moore, NASA/Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
William T. Roberts, NASA/Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Richard B. Hoover, NASA/Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Shi Tsan Wu, Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1235:
Instrumentation in Astronomy VII
David L. Crawford, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top