Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Molecular self assembly on optical fiber-based fluorescence sensor
Author(s): Madhu Sudhan Rao Ayyagari; Harry Hong Gao; Bipin Bihari; Kethinni G. Chittibabu; Jayant Kumar; Kenneth A. Marx; David L. Kaplan; Sukant K. Tripathy
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We discuss the molecular self-assembly on optical fibers in which a novel method for protein attachment to the sensing tip of the fiber is used. Our objective is to assemble a conjugated polythiophene copolymer as an attachment vehicle. Subsequent attachment of the photodynamic phycobiliprotein serves as the fluorescence probe element. Following our earlier experiments from Langmuir-Blodgett deposition of these polymeric materials as thin films on glass substrates, we extended the technique to optical fibers. First, the bare fiber surface is silanized with a C18 silane compound. The copolymer (3-undecylthiophene-co-3- methanolthiophene, biotinylated at the methanol moiety) assembly on the fiber is carried out presumable through van der Waals interactions between the hydrophobic fiber surface and the undecyl alkyl chains on the polymer backbone. A conjugated Str-PE (streptavidin covalently attached to phycoerythrin) complex is then attached to the copolymer via the conventional biotin-streptavidin interaction. The conjugated polymer not only supports the protein but, in principle, may help to transduce the signal generated by phycoerythrin to the fiber. Our results from fluorescence intensity measurements proved the efficacy of this system. An improved methodology is also sought to more strongly attach the conjugated copolymer to the fiber surface, and a covalent scheme is developed to polymerize and biotinylate polythiophene in situ on the fiber surface.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 March 1994
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 2068, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Fiber Sensors V, (10 March 1994); doi: 10.1117/12.170687
Show Author Affiliations
Madhu Sudhan Rao Ayyagari, Univ. of Massachusetts/Lowell (United States)
Harry Hong Gao, Univ. of Massachusetts/Lowell (United States)
Bipin Bihari, Univ. of Massachusetts/Lowell (United States)
Kethinni G. Chittibabu, Univ. of Massachusetts/Lowell (United States)
Jayant Kumar, Univ. of Massachusetts/Lowell (United States)
Kenneth A. Marx, Univ. of Massachusetts/Lowell (United States)
David L. Kaplan, U.S. Army Natick Research, Development, and Engineering Ctr. (United States)
Sukant K. Tripathy, Univ. of Massachusetts/Lowell (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2068:
Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Fiber Sensors V
Robert A. Lieberman, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?