Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Conventional metal plasma x-ray-flash techniques using vacuum discharges
Author(s): Eiichi Sato; Michiaki Sagae; Shingo Kimura; Teiji Oizumi; Yasuomi Hayasi; Yoshiharu Tamakawa; Yutaka Ohta; Shogo Suzuki; Haruo Obara; Hiroshi Seino; Toru Yanagisawa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The fundamental studies for producing plasma flash x rays using three types of generators are described. The flash x-ray generators used in this experiment are as follows: (a) solid-anode radiation tubes in conjunction with a large-capacity condenser of 199 nF, (b) liquid-anode radiation tubes utilizing a combined ceramic condenser of 10.7 nF, and (c) a flash vacuum ultraviolet (VUV) tube having a surface-discharge-glass substrate driven by a polarity- inversion-type transmission line with a condenser capacity of 14.3 nF. The radiation tubes were of the demountable types and were connected to vacuum pumps with pressures of about 1 X 10-3 Pa. Using type (a) and (b) generators, each condenser was charged from 40 to 60 kV by a power supply, and the electric charges in the condenser were discharged to the radiation tube after the triggering. In contrast, when a type (c) generator was employed, the condenser was charged from -20) to -30) kV, and the maximum output voltages of about -1) times the charged voltages were produced after closing a gap switch. Using these generators, the plasma flash x rays were easily generated, and high-intensity soft x rays of about 10 keV were obtained by using a solid-anode radiation tube. In particular, although the K(alpha) satellites were produced when a type (a) generator with a copper anode is employed, the intensities of the spectrum lines including satellites of copper K(alpha) were considered to be amplified by using a double anode (tungsten mounted copper anode).

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 January 1993
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 1801, 20th International Congress on High Speed Photography and Photonics, (1 January 1993); doi: 10.1117/12.145732
Show Author Affiliations
Eiichi Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Michiaki Sagae, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Shingo Kimura, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Teiji Oizumi, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Yasuomi Hayasi, Hachinohe National College of Technology (Japan)
Yoshiharu Tamakawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Yutaka Ohta, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Shogo Suzuki, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Haruo Obara, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Hiroshi Seino, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Toru Yanagisawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1801:
20th International Congress on High Speed Photography and Photonics
John Marks Dewey; Roberto G. Racca, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?