Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Results of x-ray measurements on electroformed mirror shells for the XMM project
Author(s): Oberto Citterio; Paolo Conconi; Mauro Ghigo; Francesco Mazzoleni; Heinrich W. Braeuninger; Wolfgang Burkert; N. Schulz; Philippe Gondoin; Kees van Katwijk; Robin J. Laurance
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

XMM is a Cornerstone Mission of the European Space Agency for X-ray Astronomy. It consists of three X-ray telescopes with identical mirror systems. Each mirror system is composed of 58 nested coaxial and cofocal mirror shell (MS). The telescopes operate in the energy range 0.2-10 KeV with a total collecting area greater than 4800 sq cm at 2 KeV. The angular resolution is specified to HEW less than 30 arcsec at 8 KeV. The high packing density requires the production of very thin MS to minimize the loss of collecting area due to the thickness of the shells. The replica technique by electroforming nickel MS from mandrels allow the production of MS with a thickness of a few tenths of a mm. This technique has been successfully applied for the SAX and JET-X X-ray telescopes. In order to demonstrate the capabilities of this technology for the XMM project, a mirror support structure has been manufactured which allows the integration of one MS with different diameters and thickness between 0.4 to 1.0 mm. Mirror shells of different thickness and diameters have been manufactured and X-ray tested. The preliminary results of these measurements are presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 January 1993
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 1742, Multilayer and Grazing Incidence X-Ray/EUV Optics for Astronomy and Projection Lithography, (21 January 1993); doi: 10.1117/12.140559
Show Author Affiliations
Oberto Citterio, Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Paolo Conconi, Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Mauro Ghigo, Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Francesco Mazzoleni, Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Heinrich W. Braeuninger, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Wolfgang Burkert, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
N. Schulz, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Philippe Gondoin, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)
Kees van Katwijk, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)
Robin J. Laurance, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1742:
Multilayer and Grazing Incidence X-Ray/EUV Optics for Astronomy and Projection Lithography
Richard B. Hoover; Arthur B. C. Walker II, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?