Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Experimental progress on a microsecond pulse-length relativistic klystron amplifier
Author(s): Dwight G. Rickel; Michael V. Fazio; Bruce E. Carlsten; Ricky J. Faehl; William Brian Haynes; Thomas J. T. Kwan; Ray M. Stringfield
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The goal of this research effort is to develop a long-pulse relativistic klystron amplifier (RKA) by extending the pulse length of this gigawatt-class device by an order of magnitude beyond the current state-of-the-art (100 ns) to one microsecond. A research approach is described for obtaining kilojoule microwave pulses at 1.3 GHz. Achieving kilojoule microwave pulses requires extending the electron beam pulse duration beyond one microsecond without diode closure, and maximizing the microwave extraction efficiency at the fundamental frequency. Our earliest experiments have produced a modulated electron beam for one microsecond with a peak rf current of 0.9 kA and a voltage of 350 - 400 kV. In some cases we have observed beam modulation in excess of 2 microseconds. The component of beam power at the microwave drive frequency (1.3 GHz) was approximately 350 MW. Although only a small effort has been put forth to address the output coupling issues, approximately 50 - 70 MW was coupled into dominant mode rectangular waveguide. Recently, an electron beam diode has been tested that delivers peak currents in excess of 5 kA for a monotonically increasing current pulse exceeding durations of 1 microsecond(s) at beam kinetic energies above 500 keV. to achieve this result close attention was given to minimizing the current losses from the diode and maximizing the beam current transmission through the RKA.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 April 1992
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 1629, Intense Microwave and Particle Beams III, (1 April 1992); doi: 10.1117/12.137162
Show Author Affiliations
Dwight G. Rickel, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Michael V. Fazio, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Bruce E. Carlsten, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Ricky J. Faehl, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
William Brian Haynes, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Thomas J. T. Kwan, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Ray M. Stringfield, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1629:
Intense Microwave and Particle Beams III
Howard E. Brandt, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top