The Moscone Center
San Francisco, California, United States
6 - 11 March 2021
Conference 11684
Ultrafast Phenomena and Nanophotonics XXV
Conference Committee
Important Dates
Abstract Due:
26 August 2020

Author Notification:
9 November 2020

Manuscript Due Date:
12 February 2021

Conference Cosponsors
Call for
This conference covers ultrafast phenomena in bulk semiconductors, semiconducting and metallic nanostructures and devices with emphasis on ultrafast optical and/or coherent phenomena. Manuscripts are solicited in the following topics but not restricted to:

Ultrafast dynamics in semiconductors and heterostructures
  • carrier-carrier, carrier-phonon interactions
  • polariton dynamics in microcavities
  • ultrafast acoustic phenomena.
Coherent dynamics of optical excitations
  • excitonic coherences and exciton dynamics
  • quantum interference effects
  • four-wave mixing, two-dimensional spectroscopy.
Non-linear optical effects
  • optical frequency conversion
  • multi-photon processes, high-field physics
  • high harmonic generation, attosecond physics
  • nonlinear and ultrafast processes at surfaces and interfaces.
Non-equilibrium carrier transport
  • ballistic carrier transport
  • tunneling phenomena
  • Bloch oscillations.
Ultrafast phenomena carbon nanomaterials
  • dynamics in graphene and carbon nanotubes
  • graphene plasmonics
  • carbon-based quantum dots.
Ultrafast phenomena in monolayer semiconductors
  • nonlinear and dynamical processes in transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDs)
  • optics in silicene, germanene and black phosphorus
  • novel emerging 2D materials.
Spin dynamics and spin manipulation
  • ultrafast optical spin manipulation
  • spin coherence and relaxation
  • ultrafast magnetism
  • spin injection and transport.
Ultrafast plasmonics
  • active plasmonics
  • THz plasmonics
  • ultrafast dynamics in metallic nanostructures.
THz spectroscopy
  • THz wave generation
  • field-resolved techniques
  • THz time-domain spectroscopy
  • strong-field THz physics.
Ultrafast processes in devices and lasers
  • ultrafast optical switching
  • wavelength conversions
  • gain dynamics in lasers and amplifiers.
Ultrafast nano-optics
  • nanoemitters, nanoantennae
  • nanolocalization of optical fields
  • coherent control in nanostructures
  • semiconductor quantum dots and wires
  • single-photon sources
  • applications for quantum information processing.
Ultrafast optical properties of metamaterials
  • photonic and phononic crystals
  • metal-semiconductor hybrid structures
  • negative-index materials
  • epsilon-near-zero materials
  • metatronics.
Ultrafast quantum electronics
  • quantum dots in resonators
  • quantum entanglement
  • color centers in wide bandgap materials
  • single photon sources.
Ultrafast photocurrents
  • bulk material ultrafast phenomena
  • ultrafast microscopy.

All contributed papers of conference OE105 given by a young scientist (PhD student or postdoc within the first two years after graduation) are eligible for the award. Note that this award is for contributed papers only. Invited papers and contributions to other symposia do not qualify. To facilitate handing out the award during the meeting, applications will be collected prior to the meeting. To qualify for the award, applicants must:
  • be a young scientist (PhD student or postdoc within the first two years after graduation)
  • be listed as a contributing author (not invited) on an accepted paper within conference OE105
  • have conducted the majority of the work to be presented
  • submit your manuscript online by 5 January 2021
  • present your paper as scheduled
  • be present at the Awards Ceremony.
To Apply, qualified applicants must submit:
  • slides of presentation (Powerpoint or PDF document)
  • additional information about the scientific content of the presentation
  • date of graduation if you have already completed your PhD.
The presentation and the supplementary material should be sent via email to Prof. Markus Betz (please include your SPIE paper number) by 8 January 2021.
Conference Committee
Conference Chairs
Program Committee
  • Alan D. Bristow, West Virginia Univ. (United States)
  • Keshav Dani, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate Univ. (Japan)
  • Jeff Davis, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
  • Kimberley C. Hall, Dalhousie Univ. (Canada)
  • Rupert Huber, Univ. Regensburg (Germany)
  • Robert A. Kaindl, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
  • Dai-Sik Kim, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (Korea, Republic of)
  • Xiaoqin Li, The Univ. of Texas at Austin (United States)

Program Committee continued...
  • Christoph Lienau, Carl von Ossietzky Univ. Oldenburg (Germany)
  • James Lloyd-Hughes, The Univ. of Warwick (United Kingdom)
  • Torsten Meier, Univ. Paderborn (Germany)
  • Frank J. Meyer zu Heringdorf, Univ. Duisburg-Essen (Germany)
  • Walter Pfeiffer, Univ. Bielefeld (Germany)
  • Pascal Ruello, Le Mans Univ. (France)
  • Volker J. Sorger, The George Washington Univ. (United States)
  • Fabrice Vallee, Institut Lumière Matière (France)
  • Kam Sing Wong, Hong Kong Univ. of Science and Technology (Hong Kong, China)

Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?