The Moscone Center
San Francisco, California, United States
6 - 11 March 2021
Conference 11672
Laser Resonators, Microresonators, and Beam Control XXIII
Conference Committee
Important Dates
Abstract Due:
26 August 2020

Author Notification:
9 November 2020

Manuscript Due Date:
12 February 2021

Additional Conference Information
Call for
Innovation in laser resonator design is key to solving various scientific and technological problems, from improving the fundamental performance of laser systems to enabling new laser-based applications. Advancement in laser design can take many forms including controlling the shape of the laser beam, improving the cavity performance, and creating new functionality. These features are frequently interdependent, as advances in laser system design rapidly leads to new application areas.

Classical approaches to cavity design and beam shaping have been recently amended with vast new opportunities stemming from achievements of material science, micro- and nano-fabrication, metrology, and instrumentation. New technical and industrial needs stimulate new methods of beam shaping and control for optimized energy delivery in fabrication, communication, sensing, and other laser uses.

Advances in the field of optical microresonators have produced an expanding toolkit for a growing number of photonics applications, including optical frequency combs, microphotonic frequency metrology, signal processing, quantum communication and computing, high-rate data communication, biochemical, inertial, range sensors (LiDARs), and other emerging areas.

This conference provides a forum to bridge the communities of innovators in laser resonators, beam control and shaping, and microcavity technology and microlaser-based applications. Conference papers are solicited on a wide range of topics related to the conference title, including but not limited to the following:

  • active and adaptive laser resonators
  • stable and unstable laser resonators for high-quality laser beams
  • resonators for gas, solid state, and fiber lasers
  • high-stability laser resonators.

  • novel microresonator topologies, fabrication and coupling methods, material platforms and packaging methods
  • dispersion management, nonlinear effects and functionalization
  • microcavities in optical frequency combs
  • microcavities in parametric oscillation and frequency conversion
  • microcavity lasers and optical micro-clocks
  • microresonators in RF photonics: oscillators, receivers, and signal processors
  • quantum optics with microresonators: single photon and correlated sources, qubits, switching and routing
  • microresonator optomechanics, Brillouin scattering, cooling, phonon lasers, particle manipulation
  • microresonators in biochemical, inertial, and other sensors, including LiDAR.

  • fiber coupling of diode lasers
  • fiber coupling of laser radiation
  • lasers with phase conjugation
  • high-power femtosecond lasers: beam and pulse control and formation
  • laser beam homogenization
  • laser intensity distribution transformation
  • beam control of multi-KW lasers
  • new optical elements and systems for lasers
  • laser beam characterization and measurement of laser beam parameters
  • spatial stabilization of laser beam shapes
  • beam delivery systems
  • feedback and control systems for aiming, frequency stabilization, or energy absorption
  • high-power and high-brightness beam delivery optics, including advanced isolators, connectors, beam switches, etc.
  • high-speed beam steering devices, including KTN scanners, etc.
  • advanced beam shapers and spatial light modulators for smart laser processing, etc.
  • novel polarization and angular momentum state conversion devices and technologies.
Conference Committee
Conference Chairs
Conference Co-Chairs
Program Committee
  • Lutz Aschke, Philips Photonics GmbH (Germany)
  • Paul E. Barclay, Univ. of Calgary (Canada)
  • Victor Brasch, CSEM SA (Switzerland)
  • Hui Cao, Yale Univ. (United States)
  • Yanne K. Chembo, Univ. of Maryland, College Park (United States)
  • Jean-Claude M. Diels, The Univ. of New Mexico (United States)
  • Hans Joachim Eichler, Technische Univ. Berlin (Germany)
  • Andrew Forbes, Univ. of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (South Africa)
  • Pierre Galarneau, INO (Canada)

Program Committee continued...
  • Thomas Graf, Univ. Stuttgart (Germany)
  • Qing Gu, The Univ. of Texas at Dallas (United States)
  • Stefan Hambücker, INGENERIC GmbH (Germany)
  • Tobias J. Kippenberg, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
  • James R. Leger, Univ. of Minnesota, Twin Cities (United States)
  • Andrey B. Matsko, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
  • Gualtiero Nunzi Conti, Istituto di Fisica Applicata "Nello Carrara" (Italy)
  • Michael J. Scaggs, Haas Laser Technologies, Inc. (United States)
  • Harald G. L. Schwefel, Univ. of Otago (New Zealand)
  • Haiyin Sun, ChemImage Corp. (United States)
  • Yun-Feng Xiao, Peking Univ. (China)
  • Lei Xu, Fudan Univ. (China)
  • Jonathan M. Ward, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate Univ. (Japan)

Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?