• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Britton Chance Biomedical Optics Award

The Britton Chance Biomedical Optics Award is presented annually in recognition of outstanding lifetime contributions to the field of biomedical optics through the development of innovative, high impact technologies. The award particularly honors pioneering contributions to optical methods and devices that have facilitated advancements in biology or medicine.  Honorarium of $2,000 presented annually.

For additional information on Britton Chance, access the links below. 




Brian C. Wilson with the Ontario Cancer Institute, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, is the 2014 recipient of the SPIE Britton Chance Biomedical Award.  SPIE presents this award in recognition of his sustained, high-quality contributions to biomedical optics for over 30 years, encompassing outstanding elements of basic research, technology development, clinical translation, commercialization and training and education in light dosimetry, photodynamic therapy(PDT), fluorescence and Raman diagnosis, endoscopy, microscopy, and nanophotonics. 

Previous Recipients of the Britton Chance Biomedical Opticsl Award

2013 - James Fujimoto
2012 - Robert A. Alfano