• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Early Career Achievement Award

The Early Career Achievement Award is presented in recognition of significant and innovative technical contributions in the engineering or scientific fields of relevance to SPIE. Two awards are available for presentation each year recognizing excellence in the areas of 1) academic and 2) industry/government. Nominations must identify the category for which the nominee is to be considered on the submission form. Honorarium $2,000.

We are currently accepting nominations for this Award, and the nomination criteria are as follows:

• Any SPIE member whose highest earned degree has been awarded within 10 years of the date of nomination, and has been working within any of the engineering or scientific fields of   relevance by SPIE is eligible.

• Prior winners of the SPIE Early Career Achievement Award are not eligible.

• Nominees will be judged by the SPIE Awards Committee according to their contributions as demonstrated by the creativity, technical accomplishments, and impact of their research.

• Nominations for the Early Career Achievement Award remain active for three years provided the date of nomination is still within the ten year period following the highest earned degree.

Jeremy Nathan Munday, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Early Career Achievement Award in recognition of his innovative experimental and theoretical work on photonic engineering for solar energy devices and Casimir forces.

Previous Recipients of the Early Career Achievement Award

2013 - Timothy J. White, USAF Research Lab, Whight-Patterson Air Force Base, OH, USA
2012 - Andrea Alù, University of Texas at Austin, TX, USA
2011 - Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
2010 - Alberto Salleo, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA  
2009 - Marc Kuchner, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA
2008 - Sanjay Krishna, University of New Mexico, NM, USA