• DSS 2015
    SPIE DSS Technical Overview
    Benefits of attending DSS
    Entire Program
    - Defense + Security
    Best Paper Awards
    - Sensing Technology + Applications
    - Fiber Optic Sensors
    Special Events
    Industry Events
    Job Fair
    Travel to Baltimore
    Onsite Services
    Registration Pricing + Details
    For Authors/Presenters
    For Chairs/Committees
    For Exhibitors
Baltimore Convention Center
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
20 - 24 April 2015
Search Program:  go
Print PageEmail Page

Plan to Attend

We invite you to attend the SPIE Defense + Security 2015, the leading meeting for scientists, researchers and engineers from industry, military, government agencies, and academia throughout the world. For more than 20 years Defense + Security has been one of the largest defense technology meetings worldwide, and it is the key event featuring optics, imaging, and sensing.

One of the strengths of Defense + Security is its central location in the Baltimore Inner Harbor, close to the center of many U.S. Federal Government offices/agencies and many of the largest defense/security contractors and aerospace companies in America. Defense + Security is a prime event for government acquisition, policy, and program executive representatives. This year Defense + Security has 32 separate conferences spanning all 5 days of the symposium, with over 1200 presentations.  

We look forward to an even closer and stronger partnership with you during SPIE Defense + Security 2015. We look forward to seeing you to Baltimore!

Nils Sandell Jr.

Nils R. Sandell Jr., PhD.
Director, STO
Defense Advanced Research
Projects Agency (DARPA)

2015 Symposium Chair

David A. Logan

David A. Logan
Vice President, and
General Manager of
Technology Solutions, BAE Systems

2015 Symposium Co-Chair


DSS 2015 Steering Committee

Michael T. Eismann, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
Kevin G. Harding, GE Global Research (USA)
Kenneth R. Israel, Lockheed Martin Corp. (USA)
Robert A. Lieberman, Lumoptix LLC (USA)
Barbara D. Broome, U. S. Army Research Lab. (USA)
David A. Whelan, The Boeing Co. (USA) 

Technical Conference Chairs

Mohammad S. Alam, Univ. of South Alabama (United States)
Bjørn F. Andresen,
 Consultant, IR Tech. and Appl. (Israel)
Robert A. Arnone, The Univ. of Southern Mississippi (United States)
Gary H. Ballard, U.S. Army Research, Development and Engineering Command (United States)
Steven S. Bishop, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate (United States)
Erik P. Blasch, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Michael P. Browne, SA Photonics (United States)
James A. Buford, Jr., U.S. Army Aviation & Missile Research, Development and Engineering Ctr. (United States)
Edward M. Carapezza, EMC Consulting, LLC (United States)
David Casasent, Carnegie Mellon Univ. (United States)
Genshe Chen, Intelligent Fusion Technology, Inc. (United States)
Peter Chin, Draper Lab. and Boston Univ. (United States)
Paul B. Deignan, L-3 Communications Integrated Systems (United States)
Daniel D. Desjardins, Consultant (United States)
Shiloh L. Dockstader, Exelis, Inc. (United States)
Armin Doerry, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Peter Doucette, Integrity Applications, Inc. (United States)
Mark Dubinskii, U.S. Army Research Office (United States)
Achyut K. Dutta, Banpil Photonics, Inc. (United States)
Augustus Way Fountain III, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Ctr. (United States)
Gabor F. Fulop, Maxtech International, Inc. (United States)
Douglas W. Gage, XPM Technologies  (United States)
Frederick D. Garber, Wright State Univ. (United States)
Thomas George, Zyomed Corp. (United States)
Grant R. Gerhart, U.S. Army Tank-Automotive Research, Development, and Engineering Ctr.-Retired (United States)
G. Charmaine Gilbreath, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Jeff J. Güell, The Boeing Co. (United States)
Joshua A. Hagen, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Charles M. Hanson, Texas Instruments Inc. (United States)
Paul R. Havig II, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Chadwick Todd Hawley, Senior Expert for Signatures, (United States)
Daniel J. Henry, Rockwell Collins, Inc.  (United States)
Kenneth Hintz, George Mason Univ. (United States)
Gerald C. Holst, JCD Publishing (United States)
Weilin W. Hou, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Jason C. Isaacs, Naval Surface Warfare Ctr. Panama City Div. (United States)
M. Saif Islam, Univ. of California, Davis (United States)
Ivan Kadar, Interlink Systems Sciences, Inc. (United States)
Ioannis A. Kakadiaris, Univ. of Houston (United States)
Gary W. Kamerman, FastMetrix, Inc. (United States)
Robert E. Karlsen, U.S. Army Tank Automotive Research, Development and Engineering Ctr. (United States)
Eric J. Kelmelis, EM Photonics, Inc. (United States)
Thia Kirubarajan, McMaster Univ. (Canada)
Michael A. Kolodny, U.S. Army Research Lab. (United States)
Keith A. Krapels, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate (United States)
Fred A. Kruse, Naval Postgraduate School (United States)
Ajay Kumar, The Hong Kong Polytechnic Univ. (Hong Kong, China)
Davis A. Lange, UTC Aerospace Systems (United States)
Dale Linne von Berg, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Arttu R. Luukanen, VTT Technical Research Ctr. of Finland (Finland)
Abhijit Mahalanobis, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control (United States)
Ronald P. S. Mahler, Consultant (United States)
Peter L. Marasco, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
James E. Melzer, Rockwell Collins Optronics (United States)
R. Lee Murrer, Jr., Millennium Engineering and Integration Co. (United States)
Paul R. Norton, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate (United States)
Kannappan Palaniappan, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia (United States)
Matthew F. Pellechia, ITT Exelis (United States)
Khanh D. Pham, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Tien Pham, U.S. Army Research Lab. (United States)
Stephen G. Post, Missile Defense Agency (United States)
Kevin L. Priddy, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Manuel A. Quevedo-Lopez, The Univ. of Texas at Dallas (United States)
S. Danny Rajan, Exelis Visual Information Solutions (United States)
Kenneth I. Ranney, U.S. Army Research Lab. (United States)
Firooz A. Sadjadi, Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Labs. (United States)
Jack Sanders-Reed, Boeing-SVS, Inc. (United States)
Kalluri R. Sarma, Honeywell Technology (United States)
Walter J. Scheirer, Harvard Univ. (United States)
Gunasekaran Seetharaman, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Donnie Self, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (United States)
Amir Shirkhodaie, Tennessee State Univ. (United States)
Charles M. Shoemaker, U.S. Army Communications-Electronics Research Development and Engineering Command (United States)
Earl J. Spillar, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Raja Suresh, General Dynamics Advanced Information Systems (United States)
Igor V. Ternovskiy, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Monte D. Turner, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Miguel Velez-Reyes, The Univ. of Texas at El Paso (United States)
Thomas J. Walls, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Linda M. Wasiczko Thomas, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
David A. Wikner, U.S. Army Research Lab. (United States)
Darrell L. Young, Raytheon Intelligence & Information Systems (United States)
Brian J. Zelinski, Raytheon Missile Systems (United States)
Edmund Zelnio, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)


Important Dates

Manuscripts Due
23 March 2015

Registration Prices Increase
3 April 2015

Conference + Exhibition App

Download the free SPIE Conference + Exhibition app (for iPhone and Android)

Carry the program on your phone: presentations, exhibitors, maps, courses, special events, local area highlights, people, and more.

Free for iPhone and Android.

Browse Defense, Security, and Sensing 2011 papers

Sign Up for Email Updates

Receive email updates on SPIE Defense + Security.