• Photomask Technology 2015
    For Exhibitors
Monterey Conference Center and Monterey Marriott
Monterey, California, United States
29 September - 1 October 2015
Print PageEmail Page

Plan to Attend

On behalf of SPIE, BACUS, and the Organizing Committee, we welcome you to the 34th Annual SPIE/BACUS Photomask Symposium in Monterey, California. This annual meeting continues to be the premier worldwide technical meeting for the photomask industry. In this year we will co-locate and add the Scanning Microscopies conference to join us in the Monterey Conference Center. Attendees will be allowed to attend presentations from both conferences.

The conference will give all attendees an up-to-date overview of the photomask industry. The various sessions will include presentations and poster papers that span a number of critical topics in the photomask industry. These include current technical issues, emerging technologies, and future trends. It will give the authors an opportunity to present their exciting research findings related to the emerging technical challenges facing the photomask industry to a large international audience of their peers. We have received approximately 100 presentations this year, including from the Scanning Microscopies joint contribution, covering all aspects of mask making, mask application, and related technologies.

The official opening session will be on Tuesday morning, 16 September. There will be a joint session and excellent Keynote Presentation from Martin van den Brink of ASML, “Many ways to shrink: The right moves to 10 nanometer and beyond”. We continue the single track, three-day event, which means all presentations will be in one room. We will start with OPC and end with EUV mask making challenges.  The poster session will be on Tuesday evening for all to meet and talk with many authors and some of our sponsors. Wednesday morning will start with another joint session. The rest of the conference will have focused session on Materials and Process, EUV Mask, Metrology, Mask Patterning and Simulation/Data Preparation. 

Mask complexity is now part of the main challenge of mask technology. We will continue to have the Panel Discussion and finish the discussion just before lunch on Thursday. “Mask Complexity: How to solve the issues?” is the title of the session and moderated by Naoya Hayashi. A good cross section of panelists has been assembled for a timely discussion amongst industry experts.

Welcome to beautiful Monterey. We hope you will have a great experience attending the sessions and you enjoy your time on the beautiful California coast in the middle of its best season.


Paul Ackmann

Paul W. Ackmann
2014 Symposium Chair


Naoya Hayashi

Naoya Hayashi
Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd.
2014 Symposium Co-Chair




2014 BACUS Steering Committee

Frank Abboud, Intel Corp.
Paul C. Allen, Toppan Photomasks, Inc.
Michael D. Archuletta, RAVE LLC
Artur Balasinski, Cypress Semiconductor Corp.
Uwe F. W. Behringer, UBC Microelectronics
Peter D. Buck, Mentor Graphics Corp.
Brian Cha, Samsung
Glenn R. Dickey, Shin-Etsu MicroSi, Inc.
Thomas B. Faure, IBM Corp.
Brian J. Grenon, Grenon Consulting
Jon Haines, Micron Technology Inc.
Naoya Hayashi, Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd.
Mark Jee, HOYA Corp. USA
Bryan S. Kasprowicz, Photronics, Inc.
Oliver Kienzle, Carl Zeiss SMS GmbH
Patrick M. Martin, Applied Materials, Inc.
M. Warren Montgomery, College of Nanoscale Sciences & Engineering (CNSE)
Wilbert Odisho, KLA-Tencor, Inc.
Michael T. Postek, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Abbas Rastegar, SEMATECH North
Emmanuel Rausa, Plasma-Therm LLC
Douglas J. Resnick, Canon Technologies, Inc.
Bala Thumma, Synopsys, Inc.
Jacek K. Tyminski, Nikon Precision Inc.
Thomas Struck, Infineon Technologies AG
Jim N. Wiley, ASML US, Inc.
Larry S. Zurbrick, Agilent Technologies, Inc.


Important Author Dates

Abstract Due Date
13 April 2015

Author Notification
25 May 2015

Manuscripts Due
31 August 2015

Present to Room-Publish to World

Sign Up for Email Updates
Receive email updates on SPIE Photomask Technology.

Browse Photomask 2010 papers