Anaheim Convention Center
Anaheim, California, United States
9 - 13 April 2017
Search Open Calls:    go
Print PageEmail Page


We invite you to attend the SPIE Defense, Security, and Sensing 2011-the industry's leading meeting for scientists and engineers from industry, military, government agencies, and academia throughout the world. We are pleased to announce that Dr. Regina E. Dugan, Director, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency has graciously accepted our invitation to deliver the Symposium-Wide Plenary Presentation.

This year's event also brings you two new conferences; Sensing Technologies for Global Health, Military Medicine, Disaster Response and Environmental Monitoring, and Scanning Microscopies 2011: Advanced Microscopy Technologies for Defense, Homeland Security, Forensic, Life, Environmental and Industrial Sciences.

A single trip lets you present your research, learn from others, take advantage of training opportunities, and network with top researchers and companies doing cutting-edge work covering a broad spectrum of commercial and defense applications.

We have a great event in the works, and we look forward to your participation. Come build your future today by attending to Defense, Security, and Sensing 2011. See you in Orlando!

2011 Symposium Chair

William Jeffrey,
President and CEO
HRL Labs., LLC

2011 Symposium Cochair

Kevin P. Meiners,
Office of the Secretary of Defense

DSS 2011 Steering Committee

William Jeffrey, Symposium Chair, HRL Labs., LLC
Kevin P. Meiners, Symposium Co-Chair, Office of the Secretary of Defense
Michael T. Eismann, Air Force Research Lab.
Kevin G. Harding, GE Global Research
Ray O. Johnson, Lockheed Martin Corp.
Robert A. Lieberman, Intelligent Optical Systems, Inc.
Paul F. McManamon, Exciting Technology LLC
John M. Pellegrino, Army Research Lab.

Technical Conference Chairs

Sos S. Agaian, The Univ. of Texas at San Antonio
Bjørn F. Andresen, SCD Semiconductor Devices (Israel)
Mehdi Anwar, Univ. of Connecticut
Robert Arnone, U.S. Naval Research Lab.
Kenneth L. Bernier, The Boeing Co.
Misty Blowers, Air Force Research Lab.
Howard E. Brandt, U.S. Army Research Lab.
Jerome Braun, MIT Lincoln Lab.
J. Thomas Broach, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate
Jeff R. Brown, Hope College
Joe C. Campbell, Univ. of Virginia
Edward M. Carapezza, Univ. of Connecticut and DARPA
David P. Casasent, Carnegie Mellon Univ.
Tien-Hsin Chao, Jet Propulsion Lab.
Kaunglin Chao, USDA Agricultural Research Service
Kai-Dee Chu, U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security
Joseph Lee Cox, Missile Defense Agency
Richard A. Crocombe, Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.
Thomas W. Crowe, Virginia Diodes, Inc.
Brian M. Cullum, Univ. of Maryland, Baltimore County
Peter J. Delfyett, CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, Univ. of Central Florida
Daniel D. Desjardins, Air Force Research Lab.
Nibir K. Dhar, U.S. Army Research Lab.
Sohail A. Dianat, Rochester Institute of Technology
Armin W. Doerry, Sandia National Labs.
Eric Donkor, Univ. of Connecticut
Mark A. Druy, Physical Sciences Inc.
Eliza Yingzi Du, Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ. Indianapolis
Henry H. Du, Stevens Institute of Technology
Mark Dubinskii, U.S. Army Research Lab.
Achyut K. Dutta, Banpil Photonics, Inc.
Xudong Fan, Univ. of Michigan
Augustus W. Fountain, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Ctr.
Gabor F. Fulop, Maxtech International, Inc.
Douglas W. Gage, XPM Technologies
Frederick D. Garber, Wright State Univ.
Patrick J. Gardner, The Charles Stark Draper Lab., Inc.
Günter Gauglitz, Eberhard Karls Univ. Tübingen (Germany)
Thomas George, Zyomed Corp.
Grant R. Gerhart, U.S. Army Tank Automotive Research, Development and Engineering Ctr.-Retired
G. Charmaine C. Gilbreath, U.S. Naval Research Lab.
Jeff J. Güell, The Boeing Co.
Russell S. Harmon, U.S. Army Research Office
Paul R. Havig, Air Force Research Lab.
Chadwick Todd Hawley, National Signature Program
Michael J. Hayduk, Air Force Research Lab.
Daniel J. Henry, Goodrich ISR Systems
John H. Holloway Jr., Naval Surface Warfare Ctr. Panama City Div.
Gerald C. Holst, JCD Publishing
Weilin W. Hou, U.S. Naval Research Lab.
M. Saif Islam, Univ. of California, Davis
Mark A. Itzler, Princeton Lightwave, Inc.
Sabah A. Jassim, Univ. of Buckingham (United Kingdom)
Bahram Javidi, Univ. of Connecticut
David C. Joy, The Univ. of Tennessee
Ivan Kadar, Interlink Systems Sciences, Inc.
Gary W. Kamerman, FastMetrix, Inc.
Robert E. Karlsen, U.S. Army Tank Automotive Research, Development and Engineering Ctr.
Alex A. Kazemi, The Boeing Co.
Eric J. Kelmelis, EM Photonics, Inc.
Lothar U. Kempen, Intelligent Optical Systems, Inc.
Moon S. Kim, USDA Agricultural Research Service
Michael A. Kolodny, U.S. Army Research Lab.
Keith A. Krapels, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate
Bernard Kress, USI Photonics Inc.
Paul E. Lewis, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Robert A. Lieberman, Intelligent Optical Systems, Inc.
Arttu R. Luukanen, VTT Technical Research Ctr. of Finland (Finland)
Abhijit Mahalanobis, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
Peter L. Marasco, Air Force Research Lab.
Tim K. Maugel, Univ. of Maryland, College Park
Eric S. McLamore, Purdue Univ.
Paul F. McManamon, Exciting Technology, LLC
Olga L. Mendoza-Schrock, Air Force Research Lab.
Greg J. Meyer, U.S. Air Force
Stephen J. Mihailov, Communications Research Ctr. Canada (Canada)
Scott B. Mobley, U.S. Army AMRDEC
Kevin N. Montgomery, U.S. Army Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Ctr.
R. Lee Murrer Jr., Millennium Engineering and Integration Co.
Mark Allen Neifeld, The Univ. of Arizona
Dale E. Newbury, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Paul R. Norton, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate
Teresa H. O'Donnell, Air Force Research Lab.
Matthew F. Pellechia, ITT Corp. Geospatial Systems
Khanh D. Pham, Air Force Research Lab.
Gary Pickrell, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.
Andrew R. Pirich, ACP Consulting
S. Frank Platek, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Stephen G. Post, Missile Defense Agency
Michael T. Postek, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Salil Prabhakar, DigitalPersona, Inc.
Zia-ur Rahman, NASA Langley Research Ctr.
Kenneth I. Ranney, U.S. Army Research Lab.
Stephen E. Reichenbach, Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln
Kitt C. Reinhardt, Air Force Office of Scientific Research
Arun A. Ross, West Virginia Univ.
Firooz A. Sadjadi, Lockheed Martin Maritime Systems & Sensors
Morteza Safai, The Boeing Co.
Sylvia S. Shen, The Aerospace Corp.
Charles M. Shoemaker, General Dynamics Robotic Systems
Jung-Young Son, Daegu Univ. (Korea, Republic of)
Richard Sorensen, U.S. Air Force
Sárka O. Southern, Gaia Medical Institute
Earl J. Spillar, Air Force Research Lab.
Raja Suresh, General Dynamics Advanced Information Systems
Harold Szu, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate
Carl W. Taylor, Univ. of South Alabama
John Tudor Thomas, General Dynamics Canada Ltd. (Canada)
William E. Thompson, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Shu-I Tu, USDA Agricultural Research Service
Monte D. Turner, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
Randal W. Tustison, Raytheon Co.
B. V. K. Vijaya Kumar, Carnegie Mellon Univ.
Tuan Vo-Dinh, Duke Univ.
Anbo Wang, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.
Linda M. Wasiczko Thomas, U.S. Naval Research Lab.
Bernhard H. Weigl, PATH
Priyalal S. Wijewarnasuriya, U.S. Army Research Lab.
David A. Wikner, U.S. Army Research Lab.
Hai Xiao, Missouri Univ. of Science and Technology
Edmund Zelnio, Air Force Research Lab.
Henry Zmuda, Univ. of Florida
Michael David Zoltowski, Purdue Univ.

Get the SPIE App Now

Download your free Conference and Exhibition App (iPhone and Android)

Download the free Conference and Exhibition App for iOS or Android.

Sign up for event e-alerts