• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Current Award Winners

Each year SPIE recognizes outstanding achievements through its awards program. The Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2014 SPIE Award recipients.

James Harrington, Rutgers, State University of New Jersey, NJ, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Gold Medal Award in recognition of his seminal contributions to the field of specialty fiber optics and his pioneering work in the development of infrared transmissive fiber optics and their applications in laser power delivery, chemical and thermal sensing, and spectroscopy.

SPIE Profile


Lihong Wang with the Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri, is the 2015 recipient of the SPIE Britton Chance Biomedical Award.  SPIE presents this award in recognition of his pioneering technical contributions and visionary leadership in the development and application of photo-acoustic tomography, photoacoustic microscopy and photon transport modeling.

SPIE Profile

Matthew (Chuck) P. Rimmer, Arcadia, CA USA, is the 2014 recipient of the A.E. Conrady Award in recognition of his contributions to optical design algorithm development as exemplified by his work in the area of wavefront differential tolerancing.


Jeffrey Squier, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Harold E. Edgerton Award in recognition of his seminal contributions to femtosecond lasers and amplifiers, laser filamentation, ultrafast spectroscopy, femtosecond micromachining, ophthalmic procedures with ultrafast lasers, and high-speed nonlinear optical microscopy.

Pramod Rastogi, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland, is the 2014 winner of the Dennis Gabor award in recognition of his ground breaking research in the development of high resolution and multi-component parametric phase formulation methods for the simultaneous estimation of multiple phases and their derivatives from holographic interference patterns.

James. J. Bock, Jet Propulson Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the George W. Goddard Award in recognition of his development of sensitive bolometer arrays for studies of distant, dusty galaxies and the cosmic microwave background radiation, leading to their use on the Spectral and Photometric Imaging Receiver (SPIRE) on the Herschel Space Telescope and the High Frequency Instrument (HFI) on the Planck Surveyor spacecraft.

The 2013 Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize is awarded to Wei Zhang of the National University of Singapore, Singapore, Hans Zappe and Andreas Seifert, of the University of Freiburg, Freiburg, Germany, for their paper titled "Polyacrylate membranes for tunable liquid-filled microlenses," published in the April 2013 issue of Optical Engineering.  

J. Scott Tyo, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA is the 2014 recipient of the G.G. Stokes Award in recognition of his contributions to the theory of polarimeter optimization, the characterization and calibration of polarimeters, and to the understanding of microgrid polarimeter data processing.

Rajpal Sirohi, Tezpur University, Tezpur, Assam, India is the 2014 recipient of the Chandra S. Vikram award in recognition of his important contributions to applied optics and his many international activities to spread his knowledge.

Mordechai Rothschild, MIT, Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, MA, CA, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography in recognition of his significant contributions made to the advancement of lithography through the exploration and demonstration of DUV/VUV materials, lasers, and systems.

Jeremy Nathan Munday, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Early Career Achievement Award in recognition of his innovative experimental and theoretical work on photonic engineering for solar energy devices and Casimir forces.

Cristina Solano, Ctr de Investigaciones en Optica AC, Leon, Gto, Mexico is the 2014 Educator Award winner in recognition of her outstanding contributions in optics education and outreach; for valuable outreach activities for extending the knowledge of science, in general and in optics in particular for children and teenagers.

Rajendra Singh
, Clemson University, Clemson, SC, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Technology Achievement award in recognition of his efforts in the elucidation and exploitation of photonic effects in rapid thermal processing for semiconductor manufacturing & technical leadership of photovoltaic technology.

The 2014 President's Award is presented to John M. Dudley, Univversité de Franche-Comté, Besançon, France, for vision and determination in driving the United Nations designation of 2015 as the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies, potentially the singular most important event of the past year for the optics and photonics community.

The 2014 Directors’ Award is presented to Harry J. Levinson, GLOBAL FOUNDRIES, Inc., Santa Clara, CA, USA, in appreciation for service to SPIE and the greater optics and photonics community through outstanding and enduring contributions to lithography and process control for semiconductor fabrication.

Wenshan Cai and Vladimir M. Shalaev, are the 2014 recipients of the Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award for Optical Metamaterials: Fundamentals and Applications, published by Springer Press in 2010.

Professors Cai and Shalaev will accept the award at SPIE Optics + Photonics in August 2014.

Recognize outstanding achievement