• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award

The Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award is presented annually for extraordinary achievements in biophotonics technology development that show strong promise or potential impact in Biology, Medicine, and Biomedical Optics. The award targets achievements that span disciplines and may include elements of basic research, technology development, and clinical translation.  Honorarium of $2,000 presented annually.

Naomi J. Halas with Rice University, Houston, Texas, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the SPIE Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award.  SPIE presents this award in recognition of her invention of biocompatible nanoparticles and their innovative applications in imaging, diagnostics, and photothermal cancer therapy.


Previous Recipients of the Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award

2013 - Aydogan Ozcan