• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Harold E. Edgerton Award

The Harold E. Edgerton Award is presented annually for outstanding contributions to optical or photonic techniques in the application and understanding of high speed physical phenomena. The development of new technologies and the new application of existing technologies shall be considered in the determination of the award. Honorarium $2,000.

Jeffrey Squier, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Harold E. Edgerton Award in recognition of his seminal contributions to femtosecond lasers and amplifiers, laser filamentation, ultrafast spectroscopy, femtosecond micromachining, ophthalmic procedures with ultrafast lasers, and high-speed nonlinear optical microscopy.

Previous Recipients of the Harold E. Edgerton Award

2013 - Martin C. Richardson
2012 - Luke Lester
2011 - Daniel James Kane
2010 - J. Gary Eden
2006 - T. Goji Etoh
2003 - Alexandry Aciu
2002 - George A. Kyrala
2001 - Peter W. W. Fuller
2000 - Robert G. Root
1999 - Rick P. Trebino
1998 - Experimental Dynamics Imaging Team, Air Force Research Laboratory
1997 - Gerard A. Mourou
1996 - Manfred Hugenschmidt
1995 - Alan M. Frank
1994 - George J. Yates
1993 - Robert D. Shoberg
1992 - Ravinder K. Jain
1991 - Robert P. Murkshe
1990 - Charles V. Shank
1989 - Erich P. Ippen

Read more about Harold E. "Doc" Edgerton