• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Technology Achievement Award

The SPIE Technology Achievement Award is given annually to recognize outstanding technical accomplishment in optics, electro-optics, photonic engineering, or imaging. The recipient(s) shall have contributed significantly to the advancement of one or more of these areas with specific demonstration(s) or application(s). Honorarium $2,000.

Keith B. Doyle, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, MA, USA, is the 2015 recipient of the Technology Achievement Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to integrated analysis of optical systems, incorporating in this analysis elements of optical, thermal, and structural engineering. 

Previous Recipients of the SPIE Technology Achievement Award

2014 - Rajendra Singh
2013 - Alan C. Bovik
2012 - The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO)
2011 - James J. Coleman
2010 - Akhlesh Lakhtakia
2009 - James G. Grote
2008 - Bahram Javidi
2007 - Ali Adibi
2006 - Jean-Louis de Bougrenet de la Tocnaye
2005 - Sanjit K. Mitra
2004 - Ivan Bozovic
2002 - Institute for Roentgen Optics (IRO)
2001 - Kenneth E. Moore
2000 - Pallab Bhattacharya, Augusto L. Gutierrez-Aitken and Kao-Chih Syao
1999 - Tatsuo Harada
1998 - Narendra Ahuja
1997 - Jean-Pierre Laude
1996 - State Scientific Centre of Russian Federation RD&P Centre "Orion"
1995 - Paul Scherrer Institute Zurich, K. Knop, M.T. Gale, R. Morf
1994 - Richard B. Dyott, Andrews Corporation
1993 - David L. Fried, Optical Sciences Company; Robert Q. Fugate,
          Air Force Phillips Laboratory; Richard Hutchin, Optical Physics
          Consulting; Charles A. Primmerman, Massachusetts Institute of
1992 - Vincent J. Tekippe, Gould, Inc.
1991 - U. S. Air Force Phillips Laboratory, Relay Mirror Program Office, Ball 
          Aerospace Systems, and Applied Technology Associates, Inc.
1990 - Honeywell Corporation
1989 - The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
1988 - The WYKO Corporation
1987 - The Optical Group of the Basic Research Laboratory of Balzers AG 
1986 - The Perkin-Elmer Corp.
1985 - Eastman Kodak Company
1984 - Darryl E. Gustafson and Thomas I. Harris, Optical Research Associates
1983 - Harold E. Bennett and Jean M. Bennett, Michelson Laboratory, Naval
          Weapons Center
1982 - Optical Coating Laboratory, Inc.
1981 - Tatsuo Izawa, Nippon Telephone & Telegraph; Donald B. Keck, Peter 
          C.Schultz, Corning Glass Works; John B. MacChesney, Bell
1980 - James B. Bryan, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Philip
          Steger, Oak RidgeY-12 Facility; Theodore T. Saito, U. S. Air Force
1979 - Charles DeVoe, Corning Glass Works; Clarence Babcock, Owens

Rajendra Singh

Clemson University, Clemson, SC, USA, is the 2014 recipient of the Technology Achievement award in recognition of his efforts in the elucidation and exploitation of photonic effects in rapid thermal processing for semiconductor manufacturing & technical leadership of photovoltaic technology.