• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Educator Award

The Educator Award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to optics education by an SPIE instructor or an educator in the field. Honorarium $2,000.

Cristina Solano, Ctr de Investigaciones en Optica AC, Leon, Gto, Mexico is the 2014 Educator Award winner in recognition of her outstanding contributions in optics education and outreach; for valuable outreach activities for extending the knowledge of science, in general and in optics in particular for children and teenagers.

Previous Recipients of the SPIE Educator Award

2013 - Barry L. Shoop
2012 - Wei R. Chen
2011 - Active Learning in Optics & Photonics Team
2010 - Nicholas M. Massa
2009 - Fenna Hanes
2008 - Ajoy Ghatak
2007 - Valery Tuchin
2006 - James Palmer
2005 - Gallieno Denardo
2004 - James R. Janesick
2003 - Judith Donnelly