• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

G. G. Stokes Award

The G. G. Stokes Award is given annually for exceptional contribution to the field of optical polarization. The award may be presented for a specific achievement, development, or invention of significant importance to optical science and society, or may be given for lifetime achievement. Honorarium $2,000.

J. Scott Tyo, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA is the 2014 recipient of the G.G. Stokes Award in recognition of his contributions to the theory of polarimeter optimization, the characterization and calibration of polarimeters, and to the understanding of microgrid polarimeter data processing.

Previous Recipients of the G. G. Stokes Award

2013 - José Jorge Gil
2012 - Jan Olof Stenflo
2011 - Johannes Fitzgerald de Boer
2010 - Emil Wolf
2008 - Shin-Tson Wu
2007 - Russell Chipman
2006 - Kazuhiko Oka
2005 - Rasheed M. A. Azzam
2004 - R. Clark Jones


Read more about George Gabriel Stokes