SPIE Membership Get updates from SPIE Newsroom
  • Newsroom Home
  • Astronomy
  • Biomedical Optics & Medical Imaging
  • Defense & Security
  • Electronic Imaging & Signal Processing
  • Illumination & Displays
  • Lasers & Sources
  • Micro/Nano Lithography
  • Nanotechnology
  • Optical Design & Engineering
  • Optoelectronics & Communications
  • Remote Sensing
  • Sensing & Measurement
  • Solar & Alternative Energy
  • Sign up for Newsroom E-Alerts
SPIE Defense + Commercial Sensing 2018 | Register Today

SPIE Photonics Europe 2018 | Register Today!

2018 SPIE Optics + Photonics | Call for Papers




Print PageEmail Page

Micro/Nano Lithography

El-Sayed, Willson named National Medal winners

The recipients of the 2007 National Medal of Science and the 2007 National Medal of Technology and Innovation were announced Monday, 25 August. Two of the award winners are SPIE members; Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Georgia Institute of Technology, and C. Grant Willson, University of Texas, Austin.

El-Sayed is director of the Laser Dynamics Laboratory at Georgia Tech. His research is focused on nanomaterials, from gold nanoparticles to nanocrystal lattices. El-Sayed has also served as an SPIE symposium chair and program committee chair. He is scheduled to present the paper, "Gold nanoparticles, properties, and some application in medicine and biology," at Photonics West in 2009.

C. Grant Willson, a 2007 SPIE Fellow, is an active researcher and educator on microlithography, and teaches several courses each year for SPIE. He also won the 2005 Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography. Willson and his research team at UT Austin are regular contributors to SPIE Proceedings and the SPIE Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS. Willson also serves as a committee member for the SPIE Advanced Lithography symposium.

The National Medals are the U.S.'s highest honor for science and technology.

Complete list of medalists from the Chronicle of Higher Education.