SPIE Membership Get updates from SPIE Newsroom
  • Newsroom Home
  • Astronomy
  • Biomedical Optics & Medical Imaging
  • Defense & Security
  • Electronic Imaging & Signal Processing
  • Illumination & Displays
  • Lasers & Sources
  • Micro/Nano Lithography
  • Nanotechnology
  • Optical Design & Engineering
  • Optoelectronics & Communications
  • Remote Sensing
  • Sensing & Measurement
  • Solar & Alternative Energy
  • Sign up for Newsroom E-Alerts
  • Information for:
SPIE Photonics West 2019 | Register Today

SPIE Defense + Commercial Sensing 2019 | Call for Papers

2019 SPIE Optics + Photonics | Call for Papers



Print PageEmail Page

Biomedical Optics & Medical Imaging

Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz: Fostering scientific development in Brazil

With one of the largest economies in Latin America, the state of São Paulo is uniquely positioned to support research with its state-funded institute, FAPESP.

6 March 2014, SPIE Newsroom. DOI: 10.1117/2.3201402.02

São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP) is an independent public foundation with the mission to foster research and the scientific and technological development of the State of São Paulo, Brazil. Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz is Scientific Director at FAPESP. From 1996 - 2002 he served as President of FAPESP, and became Scientific Director in 2005.

An electronic engineer and a physicist, Brito is a professor at the Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute, State University of Campinas (Unicamp) in São Paulo, Brazil, where he was the rector from 2002 to 2005. He graduated in electronic engineering at the Technological Institute of Aeronautics. He received a master's degree and a doctorate at Unicamp's Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute, and began his teaching career there in 1982. Today is a full professor of Quantum Electronics.

Brito was a resident researcher at the AT&T's Bell Laboratories, in Holmdel, New Jersey and was also the Director of Unicamp's Physics Institute from 1991 to 1994 and from 1998 to 2002; and Rector for Research at the university from 1994 to 1998. He has been a member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences since 2000.