Switzerland announces funding for research centers

SPIE Newsroom
29 April 2010
29 April 2010

The government of Switzerland has announced the launch of eight new National Centres of Competence for Research (NCCRs). These will be set up with the long term support of the executive boards of the Universities of Bern, Geneva, Zurich, the EPF Lausanne (2) and the ETH Zurich (2). The Universities of Bern, Geneva and Lausanne will be additionally involved as co-leading houses in four of the new NCCRs. The Confederation is allocating CHF 30 million per year for the eight new NCCRs between 2010 and 2013.

Of particular interest to the world of photonics are the following:

  • Prof. Dario Floreano, EPF Lausanne: NCCR Robotics. Federal funding 2010-2013: CHF 13.3 million.
  • Prof. Klaus Ensslin, ETH Zurich: NCCR Quantum Science and Technology. Federal funding 2011-2014: CHF 17.1 million.
  • Prof. Ursula Keller, ETH Zurich (Co-Leading House: University of Bern): NCCR Molecular Ultrafast Sciences and Technology. Federal funding 2010-2013: CHF 17.3 million. Keller was an invited speaker at the recent SPIE Photonics Europe symposium. 

See complete press release on Switzerland's NCCR announcement

Recent News