• Photonics Europe
    Special Events
    Best Student Paper Awards
    Industry Events
    Photonics Innovation Village
    2016 Award Winners
    2012 Award Winners
    2010 Award Winners
    Rules and Submissions
    European Village
    Graphene Workshop
    Horizon 2020 Workshop
    For Authors/Presenters
    For Chairs/Committees
    For Exhibitors
SQUARE Brussels Meeting Centre
Brussels, Belgium
3 - 7 April 2016
Print PageEmail Page

Photonics Innovation Village Award Winners

The Fourth Photonics Innovation Village was an integral part of the SPIE Photonics Europe experience. Young researchers from startups and universities displayed how they are putting EU R&D funds to good use in their product development efforts. Fifteen entrants from across Europe entered into this judged competition. Below are images of the winners.

Best Technology award: Vincent Lauer, Lauer Technologies, France (pictured with SPIE Past President Brian Culshaw, University of Glasgow, Scotland). Project was “3D tomographic microscope.”
Best Marketability award: Jean-Bernard Lecourt; Multitel, Belgium. Project was “Femtosecond-pulse fibre laser for microsurgery and marketing applications.”
Best Design award: “Thomas Geernaert, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium. Flexible artificial robotic skins.”
Best Application award: Sara Van Overmeire and Heidi Ottevaere, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium. Project was “Micro-optical detection unit for lab-on-a-chip.”
Best Overall Product award: Christoff Pruss and project lead René Reichle, ITO, Universität Stuttgart, Germany, and Christopher Gessenhardt, Universität Duisberg-Essen, Germany. Project was “Diffractive/refractive endoscopic UV-imaging system.”
Winners and jury: Back row, jury members Bernard Kress, Gustav Kalbe, Patrick Meyrueis, Paul Smigielski, Giancarlo Righini, Hugo Thienpont, and Kevin Harding. Front row, award winners (with plaques) René Reichle, Jean-Bernard Lecourt, Vincent Lauer, Thomas Geernaert, and Sara Van Overmeire.

Back to top