• Optical Systems Design
    Special Events
    Travel to Frankfurt
    Onsite Services
    For Authors/Presenters
    For Chairs/Committees
Frankfurt Fairgrounds
Frankfurt, Germany
14 - 17 May 2018
Search Program:
Print PageEmail Page

Invitation from Symposium Chairs

Plan Now to Attend!

Optical instruments are addressing an ever-increasing number of industrial and research applications: imaging and vision, defense, space, telecommunications, transportation, industrial process control, laser fusion, etc. As end users are expecting more demanding performances, optical systems designers and manufacturers are faced with growing challenges.

This symposium on Optical Systems Design in Frankfurt, Germany will be the tenth in a series in Europe. It is intended to provide an interdisciplinary forum for technicians, engineers, researchers, and managers who are involved in instrumental optics at all levels: design, specification, production, and testing.

Get face-to-face feedback from your colleagues in an interdisciplinary forum. The symposium represents an excellent opportunity to stay informed and further the debate about the latest (and future) developments in optical design and how strong digital transformation and connectivity drive these developments. There is no doubt that Frankfurt will be the perfect host for SPIE Europe Optical Systems Design 2018; it is our great pleasure to welcome you.

2018 Symposium Chair:

Wilhelm Ulrich
Carl Zeiss AG (Germany)


2018 Symposium Co-Chairs:

Juan Carlos Miñano
Univ. Politécnica de Madrid  (Spain)


David M. Williamson
Nikon Research Corp. of America (United States)


Honorary Symposium Chair:

Tina Kidger
Kidger Optics Associates (United Kingdom)


2018 Technical Committee

Stuart David, Synopsys, Inc. (United States)
Andreas Erdmann, Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Systeme und Bauelementetechnologie IISB (Germany)
Roland Geyl, REOSC (France)
Nils Haverkamp, Carl Zeiss Industrielle Messtechnik GmbH (Germany)
Tina Kidger, Kidger Optics Associates (United Kingdom)
Michel Lequime, Institut Fresnel (France)
H. Angus Macleod, Thin Film Center, Inc. (United States)
Laurent Mazuray, Airbus Defence and Space (France)
Detlev Ristau, Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (Germany)
Sven Schröder, Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Optik und Feinmechanik (Germany)
Daniel G. Smith, Nikon Research Corp. of America (United States)
Rolf Wartmann, Carl Zeiss Microscopy (Germany)
Andrew P. Wood, Qioptiq Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Frank Wyrowski, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Richard N. Youngworth, Riyo LLC (United States)