• Laser Damage
    Plan to Participate
    Laser Damage Competition
    Award Announcements
    For Authors and Presenters
    For Chairs and Committees
Boulder Millennium Hotel
Boulder, Colorado, United States
24 - 27 September 2017
Search Open Calls:    go
Print PageEmail Page

Plan to Participate

The 49th Annual Laser Damage Symposium also known as Symposium on Optical Materials for High Power Lasers will be held from 24-27 September 2017, at the Boulder Millennium Hotel, Boulder, Colorado, USA. This meeting is the leading forum for the exchange of information on the physics/technology of materials for high-power/high-energy lasers. The series of conference proceedings has grown to be a comprehensive source of information on optics for lasers and includes topics on laser-induced damage mechanisms, materials, and thin film preparation, durability properties modeling, testing, and component fabrication. This symposium will start with a kick-off event:Sunday Evening Tutorial, will host a featured Mini-Symposium and Thin-Film Laser-Damage Competition, and will include both poster and oral presentations with no parallel sessions.

Since 2012, selected papers presented at this Symposium are published in special sections of Optical Engineering, one of major journals published by SPIE. The most recent Special Section on Laser Damage III contained 28 articles and was published in January 2017.

Visit the special section

Distinguished international researchers in the field of optics for high-power/high-energy lasers will present keynote and invited talks.

As the Organizing Committee, we urge you to participate by submitting your abstract(s), and to encourage your colleagues to do the same.

Conference Chairs

Greg Exarhos Gregory J. Exarhos
Pacific Northwest National Lab. (USA)
Vitaly Gruzdev Vitaly E. Gruzdev
Univ. of Missouri-Columbia (USA)
Joe Menapace Joseph A. Menapace
Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (USA)
Detlev Ristau Detlev Ristau
Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (Germany)
MJ Soileau MJ Soileau
Univ. of Central Florida (USA)

International Program Committee

Detlev Ristau (Committee Chair), Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V.(Germany)
James E. Andrew, AWE plc (United Kingdom)
Jonathan W. Arenberg, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems (USA)
Mireille Commandré, Institut Fresnel (France)
Stavros G. Demos, Univ. of Rochester (USA)
Leonid B. Glebov, CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, Univ. of Central Florida (USA)
Takahisa Jitsuno, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Klaus Mann, Laser-Lab. Göttingen e.V. (Germany)
Carmen S. Menoni, Colorado State Univ. (USA)
Masataka Murahara, Tokai Univ. (Japan)
Jérôme Néauport, Commissariat á l’Énergie Atomique (France)
Semyon Papernov, Univ. of Rochester (USA)
Wolfgang Rudolph, The Univ. of New Mexico (USA)
Jianda Shao, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics (China)
Michelle D. Shinn, DOE, Office of Science and Nuclear Physics (USA)
Christopher J. Stolz, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (USA)

Founding Organizers
Arthur H. Guenther and Alexander J. Glass


Spica Technologies, Inc.

Cooperating Organizations

CREOL & FPCE, College of Optics and Photonics, Univ. of Central Florida
Pacific Northwest National Lab.
Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V.
Univ. of Missouri, Columbia

Important Dates

Abstract Due
24 April 2017

Acceptance Notifications
24 May 2017

Manuscripts Due
23 October 2017

Sign up for event e-alerts


Browse Defense, Security, and Sensing 2011 papers